Graduate Students

  • Headshot of Bonnie Applebeet

    Bonnie Applebeet

    Graduate Student

    Late 20th Century lesbian histories and identities; epistemology of queer theory; Southern studies; intersections of popular culture and academic production; television and media studies; critical race theory; social movements; humorbonapple@umich.edu


  • Stefan Aune

    Stefan Aune

    Graduate Student Instructor 3504 Haven Hall

    19th and 20th century Native American history, biopolitics and state violence; American militarism and settler colonialism, discursive representations of race in war734.615.2632 / saune@umich.edu


  • Yamil 2014

    Yamil Avivi

    Graduate Student Instructor 3504 Haven Hall

    734.615.2632 / milavi@umich.edu


  • Maryam Aziz

    Graduate Student

    African American Studies; Black Power and the Black Arts Movement; Martial Arts as used by 20th Century Social Movements; Black Popular Culture Imaginary; People of Color Nationalisms; Gender and Self Defensemaryamka@umich.edu


  • Barba, Lloyd

    Lloyd Barba

    Graduate Student

    Latina/o & African American Religious History;Pentecostalism, Fundamentalism, Evangelicalism;Transnational and Global Religion, Missionaries;War and Pacifism;American Immigration;American West and U.S. Mexico Borderlandsldbarba@umich.edu


  • Robert Bell

    Graduate Student

    The built environment, identity, movement, and critical theorylevertis@umich.edu


  • Belt, Rabia

    Rabia Belt

    Graduate Student

    19th and 20th c. U.S. History, Disability History, Legal history, Law of Democracy; History of Suffrage, African American History, American Indian History, Gender Historybelt@umich.edu


  • Bolton, Sony

    Sony Coranez Bolton

    Graduate Student

    Critical and Comparative Ethnic Studies; Filipino Intellectual History; Queer of Color and Feminist Theory; 19th and 20th Hispanofilipino literaturejcbolton@umich.edu


  • Carr, Jesse

    Jesse Carr

    Graduate Student

    State sanctioned violence;Critical ethnic studies;Critical prison studies; The militarization of culture; Feminist theory; Theories of violence;Legal studiesjesscarr@umich.edu


  • Chaar-López 2014

    Iván Chaar-López

    Graduate Student Instructor 3504 Haven Hall

    New Media studies;Media archaeology;Latina/o studies;20th-century U.S. history;20th-century Latin American history734.615.2632 / ichaar@umich.edu


  • Cialdella, Joe

    Joe Cialdella

    Graduate Student

    Late 19th and 20th century U.S. cultural history;Urban history;Environmental history;Visual culture;Cultural landscape studies;Architectural history;Museum studies;Public history;Memory, heritage, and historic preservationjoescia@umich.edu


  • G_Felber

    Garrett Felber

    Graduate Student 3504 Haven Hall

    African-American history;Black nationalism in the Civil Rights Era734.615.2632 / gfelb@umich.edu


  • Kyle Frisina

    Graduate Student

    20th Century Literary, Visual, and Performative Narratives of Race and Class; Urban History and the Built Environment; The Politics of Memorykfrisina@umich.edu


  • Jessi Gan

    Graduate Student

    Transgender studies of color, oral historyjgan@umich.edu


  • Dominic 2013

    Dominic Garzonio

    Graduate Student Instructor

    Orientalism and Postcolonial Theory; Film and Media Studies; Cultures of U.S. Empire; Arab American Studiesdmgarzo@umich.edu


  • Joseph REV 2013

    Joseph Gaudet

    Graduate Student Instructor

    Early and Nineteenth Century American History; Native American Studies; Environmental History; Borderlands; American West; Spatial Historygaudetj@umich.edu


  • Gothie, Sarah Conrad

    Sarah Conrad Gothie

    Graduate Student

    Museum studies and heritage studies;Memory and nostalgia;Material and visual culture;Material and visual rhetorics;Food studies and culinary history;Cultural studies;Travel and tourism;Children's literature;Writing pedagogy;Interdisciplinaritysgothie@umich.edu


  • Green, David

    David Green

    Graduate Student and James Winn Graduate Student Fellow, Institute for the Humanities, 2014-2015

    African American Literature and Culture; Queer of Color Theory, LGBT Studies, and the History of Sexuality; Women of Color Feminismsdbgreen@umich.edu


  • Liz 2013

    Elizabeth Harmon

    Graduate Student

    19th and 20th century U.S. cultural history; Nonprofit studies; History of U.S. philanthropy and the nonprofit sector; Business historyharmone@umich.edu


  • B&W photo of Kristopher Hernandez

    Kristopher Hernandez

    Graduate Student

    Latino American History; U.S.-Mexico Borderlands, Chicana/o, Latina/o, Tejana/o Studies; Intersections of Race, Gender, Nation, and Sexuality; Nineteenth Century U.S. Cultural Historykrisakh@umich.edu


  • Headshot of Jallicia Jolly

    Jallicia Jolly

    Graduate Student

    Women's Studies; Women of Color Health; African American and Jamaican Women's Survival Strategies; Citizenship, Community, and Resistancejallicia@umich.edu


  • Photo of Meryem Kamil

    Meryem Kamil

    Graduate Student Instructor and grad student rep on the AC Graduate Program Committee

    Muslim populations in the U.S.;Intersections of gender, race, and religion; Youth activism;Transnational studiesmkamil@umich.edu


  • Frank 2013

    Frank Kelderman

    Graduate Student

    Native American Literature; Nineteenth-century American print culture; Theories of settler colonialismfpkeld@umich.edu


  • Jasmine Kramer

    Graduate Student

    American prison masculinities and culturejlainek@umich.edu


  • Jenny 2013

    Jennifer Kwak

    Graduate Student

    Empire; Cultures of US militarism; Cold War in Asia and the Pacific Islands; Intersections in Asian and Pacific Islander Literatures; Food Aid; Debtjskwak@umich.edu


  • Headshot of Peggy Lee in 2014 standing in front of a plant and an orange wall.

    Peggy Lee

    Graduate Student Instructor 3504 Haven Hall

    Sexual Violence and Race; State Violence & Therapeutic and Healing Discourses; Decoloniality and Affect Studies; Transnational Feminisms; Queer Feminist of Color Cultural Productions; Critical Ethnography and Oral History734.615.2632 / lepeggy@umich.edu


  • Joo Young Lee

    Joo Young Lee

    Graduate Student Instructor 3504 Haven Hall

    Critical Media and Cultural Studies; Asian American Culture and Media; African American Culture and Media; Mixed Race Studies; Korean Popular Culture; Globalization and Transnationalism; Diaspora Studies734.615.2632 / jooylee@umich.edu


  • Photo of Katie Lennard against red background

    Katie Lennard

    Graduate Student

    US Cultural History, Late 19th-20th Centuries; US Labor History; Visual Culture; Material Culture; Histories of Costume, Dress, and the Bodyklennard@umich.edu


  • Natalie Lira

    Natalie Lira

    Graduate Student

    Reproductive Politics, the intersections of Racial and Reproductive Justice, Sterilization Abuse in the 20th Century, History of Medicine, Critical Race Theory, Latina/o and Chicana/o Studiesnlira@umich.edu


  • Emily 2013

    Emily Macgillivray

    Graduate Student

    Transnational and comparative Native Studiesemilyjm@umich.edu


  • Rachel 2013

    Rachel Miller

    Graduate Student Instructor 3504 Haven Hall

    19th c. Cultural History; Visual & Material Culture; Histories of Capitalism; Environmental History; Theories of Race and Ethnicity; Historical Narratives and Memory734.615.2632 / ralomi@umich.edu


  • Stephen 2013

    Stephen Molldrem

    Graduate Student Instructor 3504 Haven Hall

    Gay male subjectivity in the contemporary US; Queer Digital Cultures/Queer Studies; Critical Theories of HIV/AIDS and Public Health; The History and Theory of Sexuality; Continental Philosophy; Critical, Social, and Political Theory; New Materialisms734.615.2632 / molldrem@umich.edu


  • Erik Morales

    Graduate Student

    Latino Studies; cultural productions and commodification; authenticity; racial conflicts and alliances; 20th century historymoralese@umich.edu


  • Orquidea Morales

    Graduate Student Instructor 3504 Haven Hall

    Chicana horror734.615.2632 / obmora@umich.edu


  • Janee Moses

    Graduate Student

    Oral History; Black Women in 20th Century America; Identity Politicsjaneeam@umich.edu


  • Photo of Michael Pascual

    Michael Pascual

    Graduate Student Instructor

    Queer of color critique; Visual culture; U.S. empire; Filipino-American cultural historypascualm@umich.edu


  • Peacock, Jennifer

    Jennifer Garcia Peacock

    Graduate Student

    Chicana/o art;Environmental history;Environmental literature and literary criticism;Rural aesthetics and spatial formation; History of the Borderlands/US Westpeacockj@umich.edu


  • CaVar 2013

    CaVar Reid

    Graduate Student

    Black Masculinity, Gender and Women's History, Fatherhood, and the History of the U.S. Familyreidcav@umich.edu


  • Marie Sato

    Graduate Student

    Imperialism, militarism, food practice in the Pacificmariesat@umich.edu


  • Photo of Mejdulene Shomali

    Mejdulene Shomali

    Graduate Student

    Arab American Studies;Critical Ethnic Studies;Feminist Studies;Queer of Color Critique and Queer Theory;Affect Studiesmejdules@umich.edu


  • Kyera 2013

    Kyera Singleton

    Graduate Student

    Black women’s bodies and diasporaskyera@umich.edu


  • Wendy Sung

    Wendy Sung

    Graduate Student

    Comparative Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, and Cultural Memorywendsung@umich.edu


  • Vivian REV 2013

    Vivian Truong

    Graduate Student Instructor

    Youth organizing and critical pedagogy; Southeast Asian American studies; social movementsvltruong@umich.edu


  • Kathleen Whiteley

    Graduate Student

    Native American Studies;Native American Literatures and Theories; Gender and Women's Historykatcw@umich.edu