Peer Advising in the Residence Halls

In conjunction with University Housing, the Newnan LSA Academic Advising Center maintains an extensive program of peer advising services in the residential communities.  The program features a Peer Academic Success Specialist (PASS) who lives in the residential community.  These experienced undergraduate or graduate students have been trained to provide general information on College policies and procedures, and issues of course planning and academic difficulties.  PASSes connect in-class learning with co-curricular learning.  With an emphasis on technology-enabled support services, they link residents to educational resources in the residential community and on campus for academic success. They hold regular advising hours as well as being on-site for consultations throughout the community.  Workshops addressing a variety of academic interests and concerns are offered throughout the year.  Typical subjects include sessions on academic integrity, time management, study skills, test taking, strategies for selecting courses, reviews of basic degree requirements, creating positive online personas,  etc.

This Program is overseen by the Academic Advising Coordinator, Martha P. Kirpes, Ph.D., mpkirpes@umich.edu, 1255 Angell Hall, 764-0332.

Residence Hall Advising — Contacts

Martha P. Kirpes, mpkirpes@umich.edu, 1255 Angell Hall, 764-0332
Academic Advising Coordinator, LSA Newnan Academic Advising Center & Housing ResEd

Mercedes G. Barcia, mbarcia@umich.edu; 1010 Lurie Engineering Center, 647-7106
Program Director, Engineering Undergraduate Education - College of Engineering

Kurt C. Hill, kchill@umich.edu, 1009 Lurie Engineering Center, 647-7106
Student Advisor, Engineering Undergraduate Education - College of Engineering

Winter 2013 Residence Hall Academic Advising Contact List and Advising Hours

ALICE LLOYD

Alice Lloyd CLC huddle room

 

PASS: Justen Lewis, julewis@umich.edu

Mon. 10:00 pm-12 midnight,
Wed. 8:00-10:00 pm, and
Thurs. 8:00-10:00 pm

 

HD: Nick King, neking@umich.edu

BAITS II HOUSES

Baits II CLC advising space

 

PASS: Jacob (Jake) Trotta, jmtrotta@umich.edu

Mon. 8:00-11:00 pm and
Wed. 8:00-11:00 pm

 

HD: Scott Kohen, scottmko@umich.edu

BARBOUR/NEWBERRY & FLETCHER

 

PASS: Jade Weathers, jaolwe@umich.edu

Mon. 8:30-9:30 pm in Fletcher basement
Mon. 10:00 pm-11:30 pm and Tues. 10:00 pm-12 midnight in Newberry CLC
Thurs. 6:00-6:30 pm in Barbour dining room
Thurs. 6:30-7:30 pm in Barbour lounge

 

HD: Megan Langille, mlangill@umich.edu

BURSLEY

Advising space inside CLC

 

PASS: Karan Patel, karanp@umich.edu
Sun. 8:00-10:00 pm,
Mon. 9:00-11:00 pm, and
Thurs. 9:00-11:00 pm

 

HD:Ramonda (Monda) Kindle, kindler@umich.edu

COUZENS

CLC advising space

 

PASS: Xinlei (Shirly) Zheng, xinleiz@umich.edu

Mon. 8:00-11:00 pm and
Wed. 8:00-11:00 pm

 

HD: Leon Howard III, howardii@umich.edu

MARY MARKLEY

Michigan Student Success Center (advising space), Main Floor, 936-1436

 

PASS: Kayla Stockdale, stockkay@umich.edu 

Sun. 6:00-9:00 pm and 
Tues. 9:00 pm-12 midnight

 

HD: Darquillius (Dar) Johnson, darqjohn@umich.edu

MOSHER-JORDAN

Advising space in CLC

 

PASS: Maggie Pistella, mjpistel@umich.edu

Mon. 4:00-6:00 pm, 
Tues. 7:30-9:30 pm, and 
Wed. 7:00-9:00 pm

 

HD: Terrance Wilbert, twilbert@umich.edu

NORTH QUAD

CLC, 3169 North Quad

 

PASS: Bobby Kucinski, robmanku@umich.edu
Mon. 8:00-10:00 pm,
Tues. 8:00-10:00 pm, and
Thurs. 12:30-2:30 pm

 

HD: Elizabeth (Beth) Kinney, kinneye@umich.edu

NORTHWOOD I & II

2150 Community Center

 

PASS: Leah Hubinger, lphu@umich.edu

Sun. 7:00-8:00 pm, 
Wed. 7:00-10:00 pm, and 
Thurs. 7:00-9:00 pm

 

HD: Mike Black, mikedotb@umich.edu

NORTHWOOD III

2150 Community Center

 

PASS: Whitney Hwang, yentihw@umich.edu

Mon. 8:00-11:00 pm,
Tues. 9:30-11:00 pm, and
Thurs. 4:30-6:00 pm

 

HD: Jasmine Fitzhugh, jasfit@umich.edu

OXFORD

CLC and Community Center

 

PASS: Leena Jube, jubel@umich.edu

Sun. 11:00 am-2:00 pm in CLC, and 
Tues. 8:00-11:00 pm in Community Center

 

HD: Elizabeth Goodman, ejgood@umich.edu

SOUTH QUADRANGLE

Advising Office in the IRC (CLC), 9th floor, 763-0949

 

PASS: Patrick Dunlop-Karagianis, dunlopka@umich.edu

Mon. 9:00 pm-12 midnight and
Tues. 8:00-11:00 pm

 

HD: Kyle Walton, kwaltons@umich.edu

STOCKWELL

Community Learning Center (CLC), 1015c and Community Center

 

PASS: Emman Dabaja, edabaja@umich.edu

Mon. 3:00-6:00 pm and 
Wed. 4:00-7:00 pm

 

HD: Steve Bodei, bodei@umich.edu

WEST QUADRANGLE

CLC

 

PASS: Tobias (Toby) Franz, tfranz@umich.edu

Mon. 8:00-11:00 pm and 
hurs. 6:00-9:00 pm

 

HD: Joe Colangelo, jvcola@umich.edu