Tenure-track Faculty

  • Juhn Ahn

    Assistant Professor of Buddhist and Korean Studies 5145 STB

    734.764.8652 / jahn@umich.edu


  • Micah Auerback

    Assistant Professor of Japanese Religion 6147 STB

    734.647.2091 / auerback@umich.edu


  • William Baxter

    William Baxter

    Professor of Chinese Linguistics 5163 STB

    734.763.3704 / wbaxter@umich.edu


  • Bhatia

    Varuni Bhatia

    Assistant Professor of Hindu Studies 5139 STB

    734.763.1592 / varunib@umich.edu


  • Brose_Ben

    Benjamin Brose

    Assistant Professor of Chinese Buddhism 6151 STB

    734.763.7888 / bbrose@umich.edu


  • Miranda Brown

    Miranda Brown

    Associate Professor of Chinese Studies
    ALC Director of Undergraduate Studies
    5155 STB

    734.615.7034 / mdbrown@umich.edu


  • Nachiket Chanchani

    Nachiket Chanchani

    Assistant Professor of South Asian Art, Architecture, and Visual Culture
    5048 STB
    70D Tappan Hall


    734.647.1520
    734.964.5400 / nachiket@umich.edu


  • Deirdre de la Cruz

    Deirdre de la Cruz

    Assistant Professor of Southeast Asian Studies
    Assistant Professor of History
    6167 STB

    734.615.8506 / ddelac@umich.edu


  • Madhav Deshpande

    Madhav Deshpande

    Professor of South Asian Literature and Linguistics 5016 STB

    734.647.2159 / mmdesh@umich.edu


  • Nancy Florida

    Nancy K. Florida

    Professor of Javanese and Islamic Studies 6012 STB

    734.763.3239 / nflorida@umich.edu


  • Donald Lopez

    Donald S. Lopez Jr.

    A.E. Link Distinguished University Professor of Buddhist Studies
    Department Chair
    6111 STB

    734.615.1331 / dlopez@umich.edu


  • Arvind Mandair

    Arvind-Pal Mandair

    Associate Professor and S.C.S.B Endowed Professor of Sikh Studies 6155 STB

    734.763.6307 / amandair@umich.edu


  • Christi Merrill

    Christi Merrill

    Associate Professor of Comparative Literature,
    South Asian Literature and Postcolonial Theory
    Associate Director, Center for South Asian Studies
    5131 STB

    734.647.2096 / merrillc@umich.edu


  • SAC Nornes

    Abé Markus Nornes

    Professor of Asian Cinema
    Department Chair of Screen Arts and Cultures
    6330 North Quad

    734.272.9255 / amnornes@umich.edu


  • David Rolston

    David Rolston

    Associate Professor of Chinese Literature 5151 STB

    734.647.2097 / drolston@umich.edu


  • Youngju Ryu

    Assistant Professor of Modern Korean Literature 6145 STB

    734.647.2173 / yjryu@umich.edu


  • Xiaobing Tang

    Xiaobing Tang

    Professor of Comparative Literature
    Helmut F. Stern Professor of Modern Chinese Studies
    6016 STB

    734.647.9842 / maxtang@umich.edu


  • Wilcox, Emily

    Emily Wilcox

    Assistant Professor of Modern Chinese Studies

    734.647.5628 / eewilcox@umich.edu


  • Johnathan Zwicker

    Jonathan Zwicker

    Associate Professor of Japanese Literature 5147 STB

    734.615.7035 / jzwicker@umich.edu