

Commencement

2024





Opening Remarks
Joshua H. Cole
Interim Department Chair
Professor



Student Speaker Ava Victoria Seaman History Class of 2024

Undergraduate Teaching Award

Roxana Haste Co-President, University of Michigan History Club

Undergraduate Award for Leadership and Service, LSA Honors Awards, History Honors Awards

Victoria Langland Kate Wroblewski

Director of Undergraduate Studies Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies

Associate Professor Lecturer



Keynote Address: Will History Absolve US/Them?

Angela D. Dillard

Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education Richard A. Meisler Collegiate Professor of Afroamerican & African Studies, History, and in the Residential College

Angela D. Dillard is the university's first vice provost for undergraduate education. An interdisciplinary scholar trained in history and political theory, she specializes in American and African American intellectual history, particularly around issues of race, religion, and politics on both the left and the right sides of the political spectrum. Professor Dillard is working on her third book on intersections between the civil rights movement and the rise of the new right from the 1960s to the present.

Recognition of Graduates

Brian Porter-Szűcs Professor

Class Picture

University of Michigan Department of History Class of 2024

Adia Joy Archer • Joel Baillie • Clyde Frederick Barker Hal Putter Berdichesky • Isabella Amelia Blanton Joseph James Bogdan • Kimberly Monique Briceno Mason Autumn Bright • Kyle Broome • Quinn E. Byington Jacob Ryan Carroll • Carlos G. Castillo • Jiajun Chi Christopher Thomas Coffey • Devin Doyle Conaty Nathan Thomas Coulter • Adam W. Cowling • Madison Marie Cutler Alexander Michael Raymond Dingman • Alexandra Michelle Dunie Laura Diane Durocher • Connor William Earegood Matthew J. Falzon • Stella Skiles Fiorini • Joseph Mark Fisher Abby Nicole Flynn ● Benjamin Andrew Gabrion ● Maya Eliana Gamer Nicholas Jack Gillin • Micah Joy Golan • Rikki Fay Goldman Hannah Danielle Gorman • Sophia Grant • Jordan Nicole Halpern Greta Marie Hoffman • Miles Eamonn Rich Howard Justin Junghoon Hyun • Nathaniel Ibrahim • Rose Iorio Russell Leivik Jacobs • Iman Jamison • Portia Noel Juarez Neo Kanamori • Sydney Morgan Kaplan • Maddox Hudson Karp Marybeth King ● Ryan David Kooy ● Grace Dalton Kruse



Riyen Marie Lake • Hilary J. Lam • Maddie LaPierre Joshua C. Laux • Benjamin A. Leavitt • Megan Lehman • Yifan Lei John Louis Lemelin • Mckenzie Olivia Liberi Benjamin Alexander Lindy • Aviva Elisheva Lupovitch Ryan T. Marine • Ethan William Markby • Kerry A. Matthews Ryan Patrick Mersol-Barg • Maya Joan Morse Bailey James Moshal • Daniel Stephen Muenz • Sabrina Nash Noah William Payne • José Ramos • Julia Reinach • Elaina Ryan Jaya Reddy Sadda • Skylar Kennedy Sakis • Paul Thomas Schanhals Neil Schlick • Greta Cecilia Schorer • Christian Jeffrey Schwartz Henry James Sealey • Ava Victoria Seaman • Emily Anne Sedewitz Charles Hotchkiss Seely • Joseph Karl Sheremet John Henry Slonieski • James Stevenson Andrew Matthew Stone • Zoe Claire Storer • Pierson J. Szczepanski Joseph Brian Tchozewski • Anna Catherine Thomas • Karen Tineo Greyson Shawn Tingstad-Carl • John David Tondora Rain Marie Uddin • Mae Agata Wagner • Lily Kathryn Walbridge Allison Jane Werkema • Adam M. White • Maxmillian Jovan Wiegel Remi June Williamson • Matthew Wines • Brennan Michael Wolons Connor James Zahler • Micah G. Zebersky