Visiting Scholars

MITRE provides funding to host visiting scholars on a short-term or long-term basis to engage with peers on campus, begin or continue joint research with UM faculty, present public lectures, and teach graduate and undergraduate students.  These visits are often coordinated with one or more of our regular seminar series. In the 2013-2014 academic year, we hosted 28 MITRE Visiting Scholars, in Fall 2014 we are hosting 13 more, seven of whom will be visiting for at least one month.

On November 6, 2013, MITRE Visiting Scholar Eliana Garces Tolon, Deputy Head of Unit of DG Enterprise - European Commission, gave a public lecture titled "Intellectual Property Rights in Standards: Is the System Broken and Does it Need a Fix?"  

Deirdre McCloskey, Distinguished Professor of Economics, History, English, and Communication at University of Illinois at Chicago, gave a MITRE public lecture on October 29, 2013 titled "Why Economics Can't Explain the Modern World, 1800 to the Present."

A MITRE Visiting Scholar lecture, “United States then, Europe now,” was given on April 9, 2012, by Thomas J. Sargent, the W. R. Berkley Professor of Economics and Business at New York University and 2011 Nobel Laureate in Economics. He returned in 2013; on October 9, he gave a talk titled "Fiscal Discriminations in Three Wars."

The MITRE sponsored public lecture, “Finance and the Good Society,” was presented on April 18, 2012, by Robert J. Shiller, the Arthur M. Okun Professor of Economics, Department of Economics and Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics, Yale University.

2014-2015 Academic Year Visitors

Visits of at least one month

Linchun Chen, UC San Diego

Kfir Eliaz, Tel-Aviv University

Jihong Lee, Seoul National University

Emel Ozbay, University of Maryland

Erkut Ozbay, University of Maryland

Jean Marie Viaenne, Erasmus University

Assaf Zimring, Stanford University


Visits of less than one month

Kalyan Chatterjee, Penn State

Varanya Chaubey, UC Berkeley

In-Koo Cho, University of Illinois

David Drukker, Stata Corp.

Dalia Ghanem, UC Davis

Kyle Herkenhoff, University of Minnesota


2013-2014 Academic Year Visitors

Visits of at least one month

Brian Baisa, Amherst College

Kai Carstensen, University of Munich

Kfir Eliaz, Tel-Aviv University

Mark Jacobsen, UC San Diego

Jacques Mistral, Institut Français des Relations International

Asha Sundaram, University of Cape Town

Assaf Zimring, Stanford


Visits of less than one month

Susan Athey, Stanford

Pranab Bhardan, UC Berkeley

Pascaline Dupas, Stanford

Shari Eli, University of Toronto

James Fenske, Oxford

Meredith Fowlie, UC Berkeley

Julian di Giovanni, Universitat Pompeu Fabra

Johannes Haushofer, MIT

Ali Hortacsu, Chicago

Jonathan Levin, Stanford

Charles Manski, Northwestern

Rosa Matzkin, UCLA

Dierdre McCloskey, University of Illinois

Anna Mikusheva, MIT

Mushfiq Mobarak, Yale

Thomas Sargent (Nobel-laureate), NYU

Matt Shum, Cal Tech

Eliana Garces Tolon, European Commission

Joel Watson, UC San Diego

Sarit Weisburd, Hebrew University

Jidong Zhou, New York University


2012 – 2013 Academic Year Visitors (all short-term)

James Andreoni, UC San Diego

In-Koo Cho, University of Illinois

Angus Deaton, Princeton University

Peter Dolton, London School of Economics

Mehmet Ekmekci, University of Wisconsin

Charles Engel, University of Wisconsin

Price Fishback, University of Arizona

Amit Gandhi, University of Wisconsin

Gene Grossman, Princeton University

Sergei Guriev, New Economic School

Elhanan Helpman, Harvard University

Cheng Hsiao, USC

Andres Aradillas Lopez, University of Wisconsin

Robert Margo, Boston University

Sanjog Misra, UCLA

Ryan Opera, University of British Columbia

Attila Raftai, Central European University

Thomas Sargent (Nobel-laureate), NYU

Yuya Sasaki, Johns Hopkins

Robert Shiller (Nobel-laureate), Yale University

Zheng Michael Song, Chicago Booth

Oliver Tercieux, Paris School of Economics

Chris Timmins, Duke University

Lesley Turner, University of Maryland

Takuro Yamashita, Toulouse School of Economics


MITRE also funded a workshop on the theory of auctions, paying for travel and lodging for 10 external faculty participants.