William Haber Graduate Fellowships

2013 William Haber Graduate Fellowship Recepients

(Seated from Left to Right) Oxana Azgaldova and Jiang Jiang (Standing from Left to Right) Ariel Binder, Max Farrell, Dhiren Patki and Benjamin Glass

William Haber Graduate Fellowships are a core component of MITRE and a critical resource for our doctoral program. Named in honor of William Haber, a former chair of the Economics Department and dean of the College of Literature, Sciences and the Arts, a towering figure in Michigan political and economic history and a major influence in national economic policymaking, these fellowships  make it possible for the Department to be highly competitive in recruiting top doctoral students to the University of Michigan.

The 2013-2014 William Haber Graduate Fellows are: 

Oxana Azgaldova

Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, B.S. in Applied Mathematics, 2006

Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, M.S. in Applied Mathematics, 2008

New Economic School, M.A. in Economics, 2009


Ariel Binder

Williams College, B.A. in Mathematics and Economics, 2011


Max Farrell

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, B.S. in Economics and Mathematics, 2004


Benjamin Glass

Tufts University, B.A. in Quantitative Economics, Applied Mathematics, and History, 2013


Jiang Jiang

University of Science and Technology of China, B.S. in Mathematics, 2004

University of Texas, M.S. in Economics, 2006


Dhiren Patki

Grinnell College, B.A. in Economics, 2008