U-M Department of English
U-M English Home

News & Events

RSS Feed

Recent News

GSI Kudos

Posted: 3/31/2003
Please join us in congratulating this year's recipients of the David and Linda Moscow Prize for Excellence in Teaching Composition. The awardees are: Valerie Cumming, Aric Knuth, Colette Moore, Sharon Pomerantz, and Sarah Wolfson. Please also mark your calendars for the Moscow Prize Reception on Tuesday, April 15th, from 12-1:30.

We are also pleased to announce that Aric Knuth and Sharon Pomerantz are this year's departmental nominees for the Rackham Graduate School Outstanding GSI Award.

New Sites

Posted: 3/31/2003
Three new sites have been introduced in the past two weeks that contain a great deal of useful information--Emergency Preparedness, Budget Update, and Inauguration.

The Emergency Preparedness and Budget sites can be accessed directly from the U-M Gateway, and are updated almost daily. The Inauguration site chronicles yesterday's events, and will soon be flush with photos.

If you've missed them, please take a look.

Emergency Preparedness

Budget Update


Message to all Students, Faculty, and Staff

Posted: 3/26/2003
I know there is concern in the University of Michigan community, as there is across our nation and around the world, now that the United States has engaged in military conflict with Iraq. Also, we share deep concern for all those who will feel the impact of this conflict.

Your right to freedom of expression is paramount at the University of Michigan, and I trust we will set an example for the nation of passionate debate conducted with respectful civility. This is a hallmark of our educational system, and one of which I am most proud. I hope, too, that we will reach out to one another and to our faculty experts as we seek greater understanding about these troubling issues.

We know that many of our students, faculty and staff, including those in our international community, will be personally affected by this military action. Many of us have friends and family around the world, and some have loved ones or colleagues serving overseas. Indeed, members of our own community have been called to service. I ask that you consider the special burden that all those affected now bear.

You may wish to seek counseling services or other guidance during this time, and I have attached links to available campus resources at the conclusion of this message. We have staff and faculty who are here to answer questions or help in whatever way they can. Also, we are taking steps to help ensure the safety and security of our campuses and will be providing updates on the University Gateway regarding campus preparedness.

Please know that you are in my thoughts as we navigate these challenging times together.

Mary Sue Coleman


For students (also with links for faculty and staff advice on this issue): Counseling and Psychological Services 3100 Michigan Union, 764.8312 http://www.umich.edu/~caps/

For U-M faculty & staff: U-M Faculty and Staff Assistance Program http://www.umich.edu/%7Efasap/

For U-M Health System employees: MWorks Employee Assistance Program http://www.med.umich.edu/mworks/eap/

The Center for Research on Learning and Teaching (Guidance for instructors leading class discussions about the war in Iraq) http://www.crlt.umich.edu/

Erica Mitchell

Posted: 3/15/2003
The English Department Undergraduate Office is pleased to announce that Erica Mitchell has been named the 2004 Lynda Buell Van Boven Scholar. Please join us in congratulating her on her impressive achievements as an English major.

Buzz Alexander

Posted: 2/27/2003
Buzz Alexander has been named by the Provost an Arthurs F. Thurnau Professor. The Thurnau Professorships recognize outstanding contributions to undergraduate education.

Showing 241 to 245 of 273 entries.

Dept. of English Language and Literature

home mission statement sitemap contact

U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on iTunes U
U-M English on YouTube

435 S. State Street, 3187 Angell Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1003
Phone: (734) 764-6330 Fax: (734) 763-3128