U-M Department of English
U-M English Home

News & Events

RSS Feed

Recent News

NELP staffer and alum Christian Bathgate in Outside Magazine

Posted: 2/8/2016 3:01:59 PM

I spent a lot of time hiking in Northern California and New England. I spent a lot of time teaching in a program from the University of Michigan called the New England Literature Program and doing a lot of hiking in the White Mountains of New Hampshire and Green Mountains of Vermont. I was trying my best to slow down, which almost seems impossible. The world is built against that. I need a lot of solitude. I need a lot of time alone to make weird noises.


Dee Mathews awarded a Kresge Foundation Fellowship!

Posted: 6/29/2015 3:35:36 PM
This year's class of 18 fellowship winners was selected from more than 650 applications by independent panels of experts comprised of national and local artists. This year's focus on literary and visual artists comes after last year's class of fellows working in film, theater, music and dance.

Melanie Yergeau: What I'm Reading This Week

Posted: 6/29/2015 2:17:54 PM
As part of my larger research, I’ve been looking at life writing by autistic people, across modality and platform, but especially that which is self- or independently-published (including blogs, CreateSpace chapbooks, and disabled-led presses like Autonomous Press).

Kudos to Khaled Mattawa

Posted: 6/3/2015 1:30:49 PM

Mahmoud Darwish: The Poet’s Art and His Nation by Khaled Mattawa. Syracuse University Press, 2014. Khaled Mattawa examines the work of Mahmoud Darwish, arguably Palestine’s most famous poet, within the context of the political strife that marked the region throughout Darwish’s life and continues today. Darwish’s struggle to be both “a spokesman for his people and a private lyrical poet” is illuminated through close readings of poems that chart notable shifts in aesthetic, technique, and subject. Mattawa’s keen insights into Arabic poetry and Palestinian history provide vital context for understanding Darwish’s work and its importance.


2015 BEN Prize

Posted: 3/24/2015 11:39:45 AM

The Ben Prize, funded by an endowment in honor of alum and English Advisory Board member Larry Kirshbaum, is awarded each year to two Lecturers who have achieved a high level of excellence in the teaching of writing.

This years recipients are: Paul Barron and James Pinto

Paul and James approach the teaching of writing with remarkable insight, dedication, and creativity, and they challenge and inspire their students in myriad ways. Please join us in congratulating Paul and James for their wonderful work.

We would also like to congratulate all of the excellent instructors who were nominated for the prize. Our selection committee found it deeply inspiring to read the nominees' materials, including the many enthusiastic letters of support they received from their students and colleagues.

Showing 6 to 10 of 279 entries.

Dept. of English Language and Literature

home mission statement sitemap contact

U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on iTunes U
U-M English on YouTube

435 S. State Street, 3187 Angell Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1003
Phone: (734) 764-6330 Fax: (734) 763-3128