U-M Department of English
U-M English Home

News & Events

RSS Feed

Recent News

Outstanding Teaching

Posted: 2/28/2011 11:08:11 AM

Ben Prize Winners 2011

This year’s winners of the BEN Prize for outstanding teaching of writing are:

Gina Brandolino

Cody Walker

The BEN Prize, funded by an endowment in honor of alum and English Advisory Board member Larry Kirshbaum, is awarded each year to two Lecturers who have achieved a high level of excellence in the teaching of writing. Please join in congratulating these two gifted teachers, who are inspiring undergraduate writers both in the English Department and in the Sweetland Center for Writing.

We also just found out that this year we have three (!) recipients of the Rackham Outstanding GSI Award:

Hannah Dickinson

Molly Hatcher

Ori Weisberg

The winners of this highly competitive teaching award are selected from across the university to honor distinction in teaching and mentoring. It is very unusual for one department to have three winners, and we think it speaks to the notable achievements of both of these instructors. There will be an awards ceremony at Rackham on April 14, where Hannah, Molly and Ori will be honored; we hope many of you will be able to attend. Please join in congratulating Hannah and Ori on this wonderful teaching award.

View all recent news.

Dept. of English Language and Literature

home mission statement sitemap contact

U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on iTunes U
U-M English on YouTube

435 S. State Street, 3187 Angell Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1003
Phone: (734) 764-6330 Fax: (734) 763-3128