U-M Department of English
U-M English Home

News & Events

RSS Feed

Recent News

Fall Kudos 2012

Posted: 9/14/2012 11:46:56 AM

Petra Kuppers’s book, Disability Culture and Community Performance, won the Sally Banes Prize by the American Society for Theatre Research.

Alan Wald received a Mary C. Turpie prize for outstanding achievement in the teaching, advising, and program development of American Studies.

Buzz Alexander’s Is William Martinez not our Brother? has been selected to receive the UM Press book award for 2010-11.

Eric Rabkin’s online course through Coursera, Fantasy and Science Fiction: The Human Mind, Our Modern World, has a worldwide enrollment of 35,000 (!) students and has received rave reviews.

Anne Curzan has been selected to receive the 2012 John Dewey Award for excellence in the education of undergraduate students.

Petra Kuppers and Anne Curzan were both promoted to the rank of Professor with Tenure.

Six of our faculty received Associate Professor Support Funding this year: Steven MullaneyJohn Whittier-FergusonScottie ParrishSusan NajitaKhaled Mattawa, and Cathy Sanok.

Michael Awkward, Andrea Zemgulys, and Scotti Parrish have all received 2011-12 Michigan Humanities Awards.

Doug Trevor received a fellowship for 2012-13 from the Institute for the Humanities.

Amy Carroll’s poetry collection, Fannie + Freddie /The Sentimentality of Post-9-11 Pornography, has been awarded Fordham University’s Poets Out Loud Prize.

Nick Delbanco has been moonlighting as a Psychology Professor, though only for the camera crew of The Five-Year Engagement which was in theaters this spring.

Terri Tinkle won the 2012 Provost’s Teaching Innovation Prize.

PRI’s radio program The World featured an interview with Khaled Mattawa about Libya’s revolutionary and post-revolutionary culture. http://www.theworld.org/2012/03/arts-post-gaddafi-libya/

Space, in ChainsLaura Kasischke’s most recent poetry collection, won the National Book Critics Circle Award in poetry.

Patsy YaegerRalph WilliamsMichael Byers, and Anne Curzan have all had their work featured on the LSA website.

The U.K. edition of Enoch Brater’s Ten Ways of Thinking about Samuel Beckett: The Falsetto of Reason was published this April by Methuen Drama.

Melanie Yergeau won the 2011 Computers and Composition Hugh Burns Award for best dissertation in Computers and Composition Studies.

Keith Taylor and Laura Kasischke’s co-edited volume, Ghost Writers: Us Haunting Them, (which includes pieces by Nicholas Delbanco and Eileen Pollack) has been selected by the Library of Michigan as a Michigan Notable Book of the Year for 2012.

John Rubadeau’s latest novel, Farming Circe’s Acres: The Year of the Pigs, was published this past December.

Anne Curzan has been appointed as U-M’s faculty athletics representative to the NCAA and Big Ten Conference.

Sidonie Smith has been appointed as the Director of the U-M’s Institute for the Humanities.

Laura Kasischke has been named a Collegiate Professor of English.  

The English Undergraduate Office Team, Karena HuffJennifer Catey, and Kathy Teasdale, won an LSA Team Award.

Jane Johnson and Bonnie Campbell both received LSA Staff Spotlight Awards.

Natalie Bakopoulos's debut novel, The Green Shore, was published by Simon & Schuster in June and released simultaneously in translation in Greece. Bulgarian and Dutch rights have also sold and the book will be forthcoming in those countries in 2013.

V.V. (Sugi) Ganeshananthan received summer fellowships to both the Yaddo and McDowell Colonies for the summer of 2012.

David Halperin's How to be Gay was just published by Harvard, and has been reviewed extensively and favorably.

Mike Hinken received a 2012-2013 fellowship to the Provincetown Art Center in Provincetown, Massachusetts.


View all recent news.

Dept. of English Language and Literature

home mission statement sitemap contact

U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on iTunes U
U-M English on YouTube

435 S. State Street, 3187 Angell Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1003
Phone: (734) 764-6330 Fax: (734) 763-3128