Undergraduate Education

Undergraduate Education Homepage Image

The College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, founded in 1841, was the first duly constituted college of the University of Michigan. Now the largest of the university's 20 schools and colleges, it serves students from all of them. LSA features 28 academic departments plus over 20 programs, institutes, museums, and field stations. Reflecting its commitment to diversity as critical to higher education, the college enrolls about 18,000 students from all over the world and from a variety of social and ethnic backgrounds. Most undergraduates pursue particular fields of study related to their professional or career interests. Others who arrive with less defined academic and career goals are enabled to forge their own paths, explore themselves and their world, and develop new interests and deepen old ones. Over 1100 faculty engage in teaching and contribute to world-class research and scholarship. Many are also actively involved in concentration advising. Explore the wealth of resources available in LSA Undergraduate Education.

Organizational Chart


Have a question?
Curriculum Committee: 
JoAnn Peraino
First-Year Seminars: 
Lori Gould

Internships: Elizabeth Pariano

International Internships: Rachael Criso 

General Inquiries: Ayn Reineke

LSA Student Government: Marjorie Horton

R&E Proposals: Lori Gould

Residential Learning Communities: Marjorie Horton

Scholarships: Doug Fletcher

The Sophomore Initiative: Marjorie Horton

Student Recruitment: Susan Perreault

Student Services: Lori Gould

Theme Semesters: Evans Young
University Courses Division: 
Lori Gould


College of Literature, Science, and the Arts 500 S. State Street, Ann Arbor, MI  48109-1382 © 2016 Regents of the University of Michigan