African Diaspora, Atlantic Studies

  • Emma Amador

    Emma Amador

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. history, Latino/a and Ethnic studies, migrations, race, gender and sexualityeamador@umich.edu


  • Jamie Andreson

    Jamie Andreson

    Doctoral Student in Anthropology and History

    19th C Brazil; African diaspora religionsajamie@umich.edu


  • Adriana Chira

    Adriana Chira

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Slavery and emancipation; ideologies of race, freedom, and citizenship rights; African diaspora; 19th c. Cuba and the U.S. Southachira@umich.edu


  • Marvin Chochotte

    Marvin Chochotte

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Slavery and Freedom in the Americas;Caribbean History;Haiti & the Duvalier Dictatorship (1957-86);State Formation and Popular Movements;Peasant Studiesmachotte@umich.edu


  • Tatiana Cruz

    Tatiana Cruz

    Doctoral Student in History

    20th C US; African American/Social Movementstatianac@umich.edu


  • Paul_Hebert_History

    Paul Hebert

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Canadian Black Radicalism; African Diaspora (Caribb.); Intellectual; Anti-colonial Movementsphebert@umich.edu


  • Hiro_Matsusaka

    Hiroaki Matsusaka

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th C US & East Asia; Race/Ethnicityhmatsu@umich.edu


  • Shana MeInysyn

    Shana Melnysyn

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Portuguese colonialism, Angola, missionaries, slavery, anti-colonial rebellions, 20th centuryshanamel@umich.edu


  • Alyssa Penick

    Alyssa Penick

    Doctoral Student in History

    agpenick@umich.edu


  • Angela Perez Villa

    Angela Perez Villa

    Doctoral Candidate in History & Women’s Studies

    Colombia;Slavery and freedom; Genderpangela@umich.edu


  • Andres Pletch

    Andres Pletch

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Caribbean History;19th c. Cuban History;Slavery and Freedom;Digital Humanitiesapletch@umich.edu


  • Andrew Rutledge

    Andrew Rutledge

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    17th/18th C Atlantic Studies; Empire, Colonialism, Tradeajrutled@umich.edu


  • Hillina Seife

    Hillina Seife

    Doctoral Student in History

    20th C US; African-American; Africa/Horn of Africa; Nationalism and Empirehseife@umich.edu


  • Jpnathan Shaw

    Jonathan Shaw

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th C Africa; Nationalization, Violence, Genderjonshaw@umich.edu


  • Marie Stango

    Marie Stango

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    African American and African Diaspora, women and gender, 18th/19th century US and the Atlantic Worldmstango@umich.edu


  • Christine Walker

    Christine Walker

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    17th/18th C US; Women’s/Gendercmwalker@umich.edu


  • Cookie Woolner

    Cookie Woolner

    Doctoral Candidate in History & Women’s Studies

    Late 19th/early 20th C. U.S. history; race, gender and sexuality; popular performance and popular culturecwoolner@umich.edu