Intellectual & Cultural History

  • Alatas_Ismail

    Ismail Alatas

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Southeast Asia/Middle East; Islamic Philosophy, Theology & Sufism, Indonesian Historyifalatas@umich.edu


  • Stephen Arionus

    Stephen Arionus

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th C US; Urban/Suburban; racializationsarionus@umich.edu


  • Yoni Brack

    Jonathan Brack

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Middle & Near East: Middle Ages; Middle East, Anatolia, Iran, Central Asiaybrack@umich.edu


  • Kevin Donovan

    Kevin Donovan

    Doctoral Student in Anthropology and History

    Africa & global relations;Colonial to postcolonial era;STS/Social Theory/Developmentkevinpd@umich.edu


  • Jonathan Farr

    Jonathan Farr

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Europe: Medieval; W. Eur: Historiography; Soc/Cult Identity & Powerjcfarr@umich.edu


  • Sarah Garibova

    Sarah Garibova

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    East European Jewish history, 19th and 20th century Russian/Soviet historysgaribov@umich.edu


  • Rebecca Grapevine

    Rebecca Grapevine

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Modern South Asia; Indian legal history; gender and lawgrapevin@umich.edu


  • Paul_Hebert_History

    Paul Hebert

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Canadian Black Radicalism; African Diaspora (Caribb.); Intellectual; Anti-colonial Movementsphebert@umich.edu


  • Joseph Ho

    Joseph Ho

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th C United States, modern China; cultural history, global and transnational history, history of photography, visual culture, modern Christianity, missionsjwho@umich.edu


  • Sophia Hunt

    Sophie Hunt

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    19th Century US; Native American Historysohunt@umich.edu


  • Yanay Israeli

    Yanay Israeli

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Medieval Europe; Christian-Jewish relations; Memory, history and fiction; The sociology of literature; Power and legitimacyisraeli@umich.edu


  • Adam Johnson

    Adam Fulton Johnson

    Doctoral Student in History

    Modern Human Science and Social/Development Theory; United States and the World in the Long 19th Century; Cultural & Intellectual History Science and Technology Studies; Global/World/Big Historyafjhnsn@umich.edu


  • Liz Kamali

    Elizabeth Kamali

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Europe: Medieval England; Legal/Constitutionalepkamali@umich.edu


  • Sara Katz

    Sara Katz

    Doctoral Student in History

    Nigeria, Islam, Mobilitysarakatz@umich.edu


  • Jeremy Ledger

    Jeremy Ledger

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Medieval and Early Modern North Africa and Iberia;Cultural, Social and Intellectual History of Geography and Cartography;World Historyjledger@umich.edu


  • Pascal Massinon

    Pascal Massinon

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    US Since 1945; Political and cultural history;Media theorymassinon@umich.edu


  • Hiro_Matsusaka

    Hiroaki Matsusaka

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th C US & Japan; Comparative Race/Ethnicityhmatsu@umich.edu


  • Katya Mishuris

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Modern Russian and Soviet history, history of the human and social sciences, cultural historymishuris@umich.edu


  • Joshua Mound

    Joshua Mound

    Doctoral Candidate in History and Sociology

    19th/20th C US;Intellectual/Cultural;Social;Labor;Sociologymound@umich.edu


  • Davidi Orsini

    Davide Orsini

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Post WWII Italy/US Military Bases/Nuclear Power/Cold War Technopolitics/ Actor Network Theorydorsini@umich.edu


  • Alyssa Penick

    Alyssa Penick

    Doctoral Student in History

    agpenick@umich.edu


  • Andres Pletch

    Andres Pletch

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Caribbean History;19th c. Cuban History;Slavery and Freedom;Digital Humanitiesapletch@umich.edu


  • Emily Price

    Emily Price

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Medieval / Early Modern Britain and Italy: pilgrimage; material culture; memoryeprice@umich.edu


  • Holly Rapp

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    19th C US; Intellectual and Cultural Historylutwitze@umich.edu


  • Alyssa Reiman

    Alyssa Reiman

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Modern Europe; Jewish History; Italy/Germany/Englandajreiman@umich.edu


  • Garrett Ryan

    Garrett Ryan

    Doctoral Candidate in Greek & Roman History

    Greek & Roman History Late Antique and Byzantinegaryan@umich.edu


  • Daniela Sheinin

    Daniela Sheinin

    Doctoral Student in History

    US cultural historydsheinin@umich.edu


  • Diana Carolina Sierra Becerra

    Diana Carolina Sierra

    Doctoral Student in History & Women’s Studies

    20th C Colombia; Identity and Citizenship; Visual Culturedcsierra@umich.edu


  • Kate Silbert

    Kate Silbert

    Doctoral Candidate in History & Women’s Studies

    Early US History; Genderksilbert@umich.edu


  • Natalie Smolenski

    Natalie Smolenski

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Catholicism & Islam; Saints; Mideast & Poland; 20th Century - present & medievalnsmolens@umich.edu


  • Jessica Stephens

    Jessica Stephens

    Doctoral Candidate in Greek & Roman History

    Roman History, middle to late Republic and early Principate; Historical Memory, Emotionstepjess@umich.edu


  • Taylor_Edgar

    Edgar Taylor

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Africa; nationalism, race, social changeedgarjac@umich.edu


  • Anna Topolska

    Anna Topolska

    Doctoral Student in History

    Modern Eastern Europe, Poland, World History;Visual Studies (with focus on photography), Memory, Museums, Politics;World War IItopolska@umich.edu


  • So Jung Um

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Modern Japan;Modern Korea; intellectual and cultural;Japanese impreialism and colonialism;Japanese-Korean relationssjum@umich.edu


  • Kate Waggoner

    Kate Waggoner

    Doctoral Student in History

    Medieval and Early Modern Studies;Europe;Intellectual and Cultural History;Religonkgwag@umich.edu


  • Christine Walker

    Christine Walker

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    17th/18th C US; Women’s/Gendercmwalker@umich.edu


  • Cookie Woolner

    Cookie Woolner

    Doctoral Candidate in History & Women’s Studies

    Late 19th/early 20th C. U.S. history; race, gender and sexuality; popular performance and popular culturecwoolner@umich.edu