• Luciana and Aida

    Luciana Aenasoaie

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Eastern Europe, history and memory, exclusion, patterns of sociability, policy making and ideas of and around corruption, local translations and adaptations of "democracy", materiality (space, artifacts, historical props)lucianab@umich.edu


  • Alatas_Ismail

    Ismail Alatas

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Southeast Asia/Middle East; Islamic Philosophy, Theology & Sufism, Indonesian Historyifalatas@umich.edu


  • Emma Amador

    Emma Amador

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. history, Latino/a and Ethnic studies, migrations, race, gender and sexualityeamador@umich.edu


  • Stephen Arionus

    Stephen Arionus

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th C US; Urban/Suburban; racializationsarionus@umich.edu


  • Ananda Burra

    Ananda Burra

    Doctoral Candidate in History & Law

    Transnational: International Law; Empireaburra@umich.edu


  • Marvin Chochotte

    Marvin Chochotte

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Slavery and Freedom in the Americas;Caribbean History;Haiti & the Duvalier Dictatorship (1957-86);State Formation and Popular Movements;Peasant Studiesmachotte@umich.edu


  • Tatiana Cruz

    Tatiana Cruz

    Doctoral Student in History

    20th C US; African American/Social Movementstatianac@umich.edu


  • Paula Curtis

    Paula Curtis

    Doctoral Student in History

    Pre 16th C Japan; artisans, urbanization, powerprcurtis@umich.edu


  • Robyn d'Avignon

    Robyn d'Avignon

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Senegal, infrastructure, artisanal mining, ethnicity, Islamrobdavig@umich.edu


  • Chelsea Del Rio

    Chelsea Del Rio

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th Century US;Political and Social History;Gender and Sexualitycheldel@umich.edu


  • Kevin Donovan

    Kevin Donovan

    Doctoral Student in Anthropology and History

    Africa & global relations;Colonial to postcolonial era;STS/Social Theory/Developmentkevinpd@umich.edu


  • Walker Elliott

    Walker Elliott

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    19th/20th C US;Race, labor, educationhwelliot@umich.edu


  • Jonathan Farr

    Jonathan Farr

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Europe: Medieval; W. Eur: Historiography; Soc/Cult Identity & Powerjcfarr@umich.edu


  • Sarah Garibova

    Sarah Garibova

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    East European Jewish history, 19th and 20th century Russian/Soviet historysgaribov@umich.edu


  • Kevin Gouge

    Kevin Gouge

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Asia: Japan; Medieval; Family and Lineage; Inheritance; Adoption; Warrior Culturekgouge@umich.edu


  • Yanay Israeli

    Yanay Israeli

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Medieval Europe; Christian-Jewish relations; Memory, history and fiction; The sociology of literature; Power and legitimacyisraeli@umich.edu


  • Nora Krinitsky

    Nora Krinitsky

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th Century US, Political History, Urban Historynkrinit@umich.edu


  • Shana MeInysyn

    Shana Melnysyn

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Portuguese colonialism, Angola, missionaries, slavery, anti-colonial rebellions, 20th centuryshanamel@umich.edu


  • Pedro Monaville

    Pedro Monaville

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Africa; Colonial Belgium; The Congopmonavil@umich.edu


  • Joshua Mound

    Joshua Mound

    Doctoral Candidate in History and Sociology

    19th/20th C US;Intellectual/Cultural;Social;Labor;Sociologymound@umich.edu


  • Cyrus O'Brien

    Cyrus O'Brien

    Doctoral Student in Anthropology & History

    United States; race; incarceration; religion; faith-based prisons; juvenile courtscjobrien@umich.edu


  • Davidi Orsini

    Davide Orsini

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Post WWII Italy/US Military Bases/Nuclear Power/Cold War Technopolitics/ Actor Network Theorydorsini@umich.edu


  • Emma Park

    Emma Park

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Colonial and postcolonial East Africa; Science and Technology Studies (STS); Technopolitics; Youth culturesemlopa@umich.edu


  • Kimberly Powers

    Kimberly Powers

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Russia/Central Asia/Kazakhstan, 19th century, imperialism, bureaucracy and the materiality of paperwork, family law, gender relationspowerska@umich.edu


  • Alyssa Reiman

    Alyssa Reiman

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Modern Europe; Jewish History; Italy/Germany/Englandajreiman@umich.edu


  • Garrett Ryan

    Garrett Ryan

    Doctoral Candidate in Greek & Roman History

    Greek & Roman History Late Antique and Byzantinegaryan@umich.edu


  • Diana Carolina Sierra Becerra

    Diana Carolina Sierra

    Doctoral Student in History & Women’s Studies

    20th C Colombia; Identity and Citizenship; Visual Culturedcsierra@umich.edu


  • Natalie Smolenski

    Natalie Smolenski

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Catholicism & Islam; Saints; Mideast & Poland; 20th Century - present & medievalnsmolens@umich.edu


  • Ronit_Stahl

    Ronit Stahl

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th C US;Relition, Politics, and Law;Modern Jewish Historyrystahl@umich.edu


  • Jessica Stephens

    Jessica Stephens

    Doctoral Candidate in Greek & Roman History

    Roman History, middle to late Republic and early Principate; Historical Memory, Emotionstepjess@umich.edu


  • Anna Topolska

    Anna Topolska

    Doctoral Student in History

    Modern Eastern Europe, Poland, World History;Visual Studies (with focus on photography), Memory, Museums, Politics;World War IItopolska@umich.edu


  • ToniAnn Trevino

    ToniAnn Trevino

    Doctoral Student in History

    US-Mexico Borderlands; 20th Century to present; US/Mexico Diplomatic History;Narco and Criminal Culture;Mexico-American Historytoniannt@umich.edu


  • Christine Walker

    Christine Walker

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    17th/18th C US; Women’s/Gendercmwalker@umich.edu