• Alatas_Ismail

    Ismail Alatas

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Southeast Asia/Middle East; Islamic Philosophy, Theology & Sufism, Indonesian Historyifalatas@umich.edu


  • Farida Begum

    Farida Begum

    Doctoral Student in History

    South Asia; Gender; Islam; Empirefaridab@umich.edu


  • Yoni Brack

    Jonathan (Yoni) Brack

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Middle & Near East: Middle Ages; Middle East, Anatolia, Iran, Central Asiaybrack@umich.edu


  • Ananda Burra

    Ananda Burra

    Doctoral Candidate in History & Law

    Transnational: International Law; Empireaburra@umich.edu


  • Vincent Chan

    Doctoral Student in History

    16th17th Century Japan;Intellectual/Literaturevwch@umich.edu


  • Paula Curtis

    Paula Curtis

    Doctoral Student in History

    Pre 16th C Japan; artisans, urbanization, powerprcurtis@umich.edu


  • Sherry Funches

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Pre-Modern Japan; Women’s/Gender Social; Brit Colonialism, Race Relationssfunches@umich.edu


  • Kevin Gouge

    Kevin Gouge

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Asia: Japan; Medieval; Family and Lineage; Inheritance; Adoption; Warrior Culturekgouge@umich.edu


  • Rebecca Grapevine

    Rebecca Grapevine

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Modern South Asia; Indian legal history; gender and lawgrapevin@umich.edu


  • Leslie Hempson

    Leslie Hempson

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Modern South Asia; political economy; materiality;Islam/Muslims in South Asialhempson@umich.edu


  • Joseph Ho

    Joseph Ho

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    20th C United States, modern China; cultural history, global and transnational history, history of photography, visual culture, modern Christianity, missionsjwho@umich.edu


  • Joshua Hubbard

    Joshua Hubbard

    Doctoral Student in History & Women's Studies

    Chinese history and gender studieshubbardj@umich.edu


  • Hafsa Kanjwal

    Hafsa Kanjwal

    Doctoral Candidate in History & Women's Studies

    South Asia; Women’s Studieshafsak@umich.edu


  • Gurveen Kaur Khurana

    Gurveen Kaur Khurana

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    South Asia; space and place; political subjectivities; religion; memory; epistemology,; cultural history; urban history; Punjab history and anthropologygurveenk@umich.edu


  • Jaymin Kim

    Jaymin Kim

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    18th & 19th C. China; borderlands; legal imperialismjaymin@umich.edu


  • Tapsi Mathur

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    19th/20th C South Asia; Empire and Explorationtapsim@umich.edu


  • Hiro Matsusaka

    Doctoral Student in History

    20th/21st C US & Japan; Comparative Race/Ethnicityhmatsu@umich.edu


  • Kimberly Powers

    Kimberly Powers

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    Russia/Central Asia/Kazakhstan, 19th century, imperialism, bureaucracy and the materiality of paperwork, family law, gender relationspowerska@umich.edu


  • John Smith

    John Smith

    Doctoral Student in History

    jsfsmith@umich.edu


  • sullivan_charley

    Charles Sullivan

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Colonial & Post-colonial Southeast Asia734.764.4568 / rowcoach@umich.edu


  • So Jung Um

    Doctoral Candidate in History

    Modern Japan;Modern Korea; intellectual and cultural;Japanese impreialism and colonialism;Japanese-Korean relationssjum@umich.edu


  • Andrea Wright

    Andrea Wright

    Doctoral Candidate in Anthropology & History

    South Asia; the Arabic-speaking Persian Gulf; Labor Migration; Oil; Transnational Networksagwa@umich.edu