Honors Requirements

The LSA Honors Program at the University of Michigan is a four-year academic program designed to provide motivated, academically talented undergraduates with opportunities to enrich their education beyond what might be typical for an undergraduate career at the University of Michigan. It allows you to combine the vast resources of a large research university with the kind of personal attention and small community you might find at a small liberal arts college.

Honors at Michigan is administered in two parts; the first and second year Honors (which comprises the Honors Core), whose hallmarks are the enrollment in Honors courses and seminars and completion of the Literature and Ideas requirement, and third and fourth year Honors, which are marked by completing either an Honors Concentration or Honors in the Liberal Arts.

Lower-division Honors Requirements
View requirements for first- and second-year Honors (including Honors Core information).

Honors Majors
Information on continuing in Honors past the second year.

Honors in the Liberal Arts
Details regarding alternatives to an Honors Concentration.