Alumni

Past IPCAA Graduates and their Current Positions

Information concerning the whereabouts of our alumni is current to the best of our knowledge. Please send corrections or updates to ipcaa.office@umich.edu.

Adams, Jean Alison

M.A. (1982)

Allen, Marti L.

Dissertation (1985): “The Terracotta Figurines from Karanis: A Study of Technique, Style, and Chronology in Fayoumic Coroplastics”

Anderson, Björn

bjorn-anderson@uiowa.edu
Assistant Professor of Art History, School of Art and Art History, University of Iowa
Dissertation (2005): "Constructing Nabataea: Indentity, Ideology, and Connectivity"

Armantrout, George

dlga@pdx.edu
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of History, Portland State University
Dissertation (1990): “The Seven Against Thebes in Greek Art”

Bace, Edward

Dissertation (1983): “Cosa: Inscriptions on Stone and Brick-Stamps”

Baily, Ingrid

M.A. (1991)

Banducci, Laura

laura.banducci@utoronto.ca
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada Postdoctoral Fellow in The Archaeology Centre at the University of Toronto 
Dissertation (2013): “Foodways and Cultural Identity in Roman Republican Italy”

Bellah, Mary Suzanne

M.A. (1979)

Berlin, Andrea

aberlin@bu.edu
James R. Wiseman Chair of Classical Archaeology, Archaeology Department, Boston University
Dissertation (1988): “The Hellenistic and Early Roman Common-Ware Pottery from Tel Anafa”

Bomgardner, David L.

dlb13@tinyworld.co.uk
Elstree School, Woolhampton, Berkshire, England
Dissertation (1985): “An Analytical Study of North African Amphitheaters”

Burns, Bryan

bburns@wellesley.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Classical Studies, Wellesley College
Dissertation (1999): “Import Consumption in the Bronze Age Argolid (Greece): Effects of Mediterranean Trade on Mycenaean Society”

Button, Seth

sbutton@umich.edu
Dissertation (2010): “Resource Stress and Subsistence Practice in Early Prehistoric Cyprus”

Cakmak, Lisa

lacakmak@gmail.com
Assistant Curator, St. Louis Art Museum
Dissertation (2009): "Androgyny, Identity, and Iconography on the Graeco-Phoenician Sealings from Tel Kedesh, Israel"

Carr, Karen Lichtenbaum

carrk@pdx.edu
Associate Professor, History Department, Portland State University
Dissertation (1992): “Did Roman Government Matter? The Standard of Living in the Guadalquivir Valley A.D. 300-700”

Caulfield, Tracy

M.A. (1984)
Deceased, 1986

Colantoni, Elizabeth

Elizabeth.Colantoni@Rochester.edu
Assistant Professor, University of Rochester
Dissertation (2005): "Sacred Sites and Religion in Early Rome, Eight to Sixth Centuries BC"

Colburn, Henry

preater@umich.edu
Postdoctoral Curatorial Fellow in Ancient Art, Harvard Art Museums 
Dissertation (2014): "The Archaeology of Achaemenid Rule in Egypt"

Commito, Angela

acommito@umich.edu
Dissertation (2014): "Asia Minor at the End of Antiquity: A View from the Countryside"

Compton, Geoffrey

gcompton@brynmawr.edu
Adjunct Lecturer, Department of Geology, Bryn Mawr College
Active in IPCAA
M.A. (1997)

Conlin, Diane Atnally

diane.conlin@colorado.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classics and Fine Arts, University of Colorado, Boulder
Dissertation (1993): “The Large Processional Friezes on the Ara Pacis Augustae: Early Augustan Sculptural Styles and Workshop Traditions”

Cook, R. James

jamescook@trentu.ca
Dissertation (2011): “Landscapes of Irrigation in the Ptolemaic and Roman Fayum: Interdisciplinary Archaeological Survey and Excavation Near Kom Aushim (Ancient Karanis), Egypt”

Cunningham, Gail

M.A. (1995)

Devlin, Felicity

Scealta Shamhne, Ireland
M.A. (1990)

Dey, Hendrik

hendrikdey@gmail.com
Assistant Professor, Department of Classics, Hunter College
Dissertation (2006): “The Aurelian Wall and the Refashioning of Imperial Rome, A.D. 271-855”

Dicus, Kevin

kdicus@umich.edu
Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Classics, Case Western University
Dissertation (2012): “Actors and Agents in Republican Religion in Italy.  A View from the Sanctuary at Grasceta dei Cavallari”

Dix, Thomas Keith

tkdix@uga.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classics, University of Georgia, M.A. (1978)

Dobbins, John

dobbins@virginia.edu
Professor, Art Department, University of Virginia
Dissertation (1977): “Terracotta Lamps of the Roman Province of Syria”

Dusinberre, Elspeth

E.Dusinberre@Colorado.edu
Associate Professor in Classics, University of Colorado, Boulder
Dissertation (1997): “Satrapal Sardis: Aspects of Empire in an Achaemenid Capital”

Eaverly, Mary Ann

eaverly@classics.ufl.edu
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Classics, University of Florida, Gainesville
Dissertation (1986): “The Equestrian Statue in Archaic Greek Sculpture”

Edwards, Nancy

M.A. (1977)

Faro, Elissa

elissa.faro@gmail.com
Project Manager, National Initiative for Children's Healthcare Quality
Dissertation (2007): “Ritual Activity and Regional Dynamics: Towards a Reinterpretation of Minoan Extra-Urban Ritual Space”

Foss, Pedar

pfoss@depauw.edu
Associate Professor, Classical Studies Department, Depauw University
Dissertation (1994): “Kitchens and Dining Rooms at Pompeii: The Spatial and Social Relationship of Cooking to Eating in the Roman Household”

Friedland, Elise

efried@gwu.edu
Professor of Classics and Art History, Department of Classical and Semitic Languages and Literatures, George Washington University
Dissertation (1997): “Roman Marble Sculpture from the Levant: The Group from the Sanctuary of Pan at Caesarea Philippi (Banias)”

Fullerton, Monica Barran

fullerton.2@osu.edu
Program Coordinator, Department of History, Ohio State University
M.A. (1979)

Gagliano, Lorraine Knop

M.A. (2013)

Garrison, Mark

mgarrison@trinity.edu
Chair, Department of Art and Art History, Trinity University
Dissertation (1988): “Seal Workshops & Artists in Persepolis: A Study of Seal Impressions Preserving the Theme of Heroic Encounter on the Persepolis Fortification & Treasury Tablets”

Gates, Jennifer

gatesfoster@mail.utexas.edu
Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina
Dissertation (2005): "Traveling the Desert Edge: The Ptolemaic Roadways and Regional Economy of Egypt's Eastern Desert in the Fourth through First Centuries BCE"

Goodnoh, Carla

carla.j.goodnoh@dartmouth
Dartmouth College, Residential Life Department
M.A. (1992)

Griffith-Collins, Alison

allison.griffith@canterbury.ac.nz
Senior Lecturer, Classics Department, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Dissertation (1993): “The Archaeological Evidence for Mithraism in Imperial Rome”

Haeckl, Anne E.

ahaeckl@kzoo.edu
Senior Instructor, Department of Classics, Kalamazoo College
M.A. (1977)

Hamann, Barbara

hamannb@carnegiemuseums.org
Head of Conservation, Carnegie Museum of Natural History, Pittsburgh
M.A. (1985)

Harrison, Ann

Getty Center
Dissertation (1992): “Early Black Figure Workshops of Athens and Corinth: A Study of Reciprocal Artistic Influences”

Hartnett, Jeremy

hartnetj@wabash.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classics, Wabash College
Dissertation (2003): “Streets, Street Architecture, and Social Presentation in Roman Italy”

Harvey, Sarah Morgan

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Classics Department, Kent State University
Dissertation (1999): “The Iron Age II Period in the Central Negev Highlands and Edom: A Comparison of Settlement Intensification and Land Exploitation”

Heath, Sebastian

sebastian.heath@nyu.edu
Research Assistant Professor, Institute of the Study of the Ancient World, New York University
Dissertation (2004): "Imported Ceramics and the Rural Consumer in Late Roman Mediterranean Gaul"

Herring-Harrington, Lydia

herrilyd@umich.edu
Dissertation (2011): “Strategies of Communication in the Shrines of Pompeii”

Heston, Holly

M.A. (1986)

Hiers, Margaret

MA (2001)

Higginbotham, James

jhigginb@bowdoin.edu
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Classics, Bowdoin College
Dissertation (1991): “Artificial Fishponds in Roman Italy during the Late Republic and Early Empire”

Hoffman, Gail

hoffmaga@bc.edu
Adjunct Associate Professor, Departments of Fine Arts and Classical Studies, Boston College
Dissertation (1990): “Immigrants, Imports & Problems in the Study of Influence: Archaeological Evidence for Artistic Transmission from the Near East to Crete, ca. 1100-ca. 700 B.C.”

Holt, Emily

emily.holt@oberlin.edu
Visiting Assistant Professor of Archaeology and Anthropology, Oberlin College
Dissertation (2013): "Economy and Environment in Complex Societies: A Case Study from
Bronze Age Sardinia"  

Horowitz, Naomi

naomih@mit.edu
M.A. (1994)
Ph.D. program in Architecture at Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Johnson, Karen

karjanjoh@gmail.com
Dissertation (2006): "Materializing Childhood: an Historical Archaeology of Children in Roman Egypt"

Keesling, Catherine

keeslinc@georgetown.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classics, Georgetown University
Dissertation (1995): “Monumental Private Votive Dedications on the Athenian Acropolis, ca. 600-400 B.C.”

Khatchadourian, Lori

lk323@cornell.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Near Eastern Studies, Cornell University
Dissertation (2008): “Social Logics Under Empire: The Armenian 'Highland Strategy' and Achaemenid Rule, CA 600-300 BC ”

Koloski-Ostrow, Ann O.

aoko@brandeis.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classical Studies, BrandeisUniversity
Dissertation (1986): “The Sarno Bath Complex: Architecture in Pompeii's Last Years”

Kontar, Diane Reiersgord Clark

kontar@findlay.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Art History, University of Findlay
M.A. (1979)

Kosak, Andrew

Teacher, Mt. Ararat Middle School, Gifted & Talented Program, Topsham, ME
M.A. (1990)

Landvatter, Thomas

tlandvat@kzoo.edu
Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Classics, Kalamazoo College
Dissertation (2013): "Identity, Burial Practice, and Social Change in Ptolemaic Egypt"

Lash, Samantha

samlash@umich.edu
Graduate Student, Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World, Brown University
M.A. (2013)

Laurence, Karen

karenlau@umich.edu
Visiting Lecturer, Department of Classics, University of Illinois, Urbana
Dissertation (2012): "Panhellenism in the Roman Empire: Infrastructural Changes to the Panhellenic Sanctuaries, Formations of New Identities"

Lawall, Mark

lawall@cc.umanitoba.ca
Assistant Professor, Department of Classics, University of Manitoba
Dissertation (1995): “Transport Amphoras and Trademarks: Imports to Athens and Economic Diversity in the Fifth Century B.C.”

Legutko, Paul

Dissertation (2000): “Roman Imperial Ideology in the Mid-Third Century A.D.: Negotiation, Usurpation, and Crisis in the Imperial Center”

Long, Leah

leahel@umich.edu
Assistant Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Art in Doha, Qatar
Dissertation (2012): "Urbanism, Art and Economy: The Marble Quarrying Industries of Aphrodisias and Roman Asia Minor"

Longfellow, Brenda

brenda-longfellow@uiowa.edu
Associate Professor, School of Art and Art History, University of Iowa
Dissertation (2005): "Imperial Patronage and Urban Display of Roman Monumental Fountains and Nymphaea"

MacKay, Camilla

cmackey@brynmawr.edu
Head Librarian, Rhys Carpenter Library, Bryn Mawr College
Dissertation (1999): “Road Systems and Postal Service of the Eastern Roman and Byzantine Empires”

Mallampati, Hima

hima.mallampati@nyu.edu
Assistant Professor/Faculty Fellow, Museum Studies, New York University
Dissertation (2010): “Acquiring Antiquity: The Early History of Classical Collections at the University of Michigan and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston”

Mancuso, Marc

M.A. (1991)

McAlpine, Lynley

lynley@umich.edu
Dissertation (2014): "Marble, Memory, and Meaning in the Four Pompeian Styles of Archaeology" 

McCoy, Laurie

M.A. (1983) 
Deceased, 1998

McKeon, Carolyn Hessenbruch

museum@airmail.net
Education Director, Heritage Farmstead Museum, Plano, TX
Dissertation (1983): “Iconology of the Gorgon Medusa in Roman Mosaic”

McNiven, Timothy

mcniven.1@osu.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Art History, Ohio State University, Marion Campus
Dissertation (1982): “Gestures in Attic Vase Painting: Use and Meaning, 550-450 B.C.”

Menard, Theresa

tdmenard@aol.com
Getty Center; Research Associate, UCLA Cotsen Institute of Archaeology
Dissertation (1990): “The Archaic and Classical Pottery from the Sanctuary at Località Santa Venera in Paestum, Italy”

Miller Ammerman, Rebecca

rammerman@mail.colgate.edu
Professor and Chair, Department of Classics, Colgate University
Dissertation (1983): “The Terracotta Votives from Medma: Cult and Coroplastic Craft in Magna Graecia”

Mogetta, Marcello

mogetta@umich.edu
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Freie Universität of Berlin
Dissertation (2013): “The Origins of Concrete in Rome and Pompeii”

Monteiro, Lyra

M.A. (2006)

Morden, Margaret

memorden@sympatico.ca
Lecturer, Brock University, St. Catherine, Ontario
M.A. (1984)

Nagel, Alexander

nagela@si.edu
Associate Curator of Ancient Near Eastern Art, Smithsonian Institution, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery
Dissertation (2010): “Colors, Gilding and Painted Motifs in Persepolis: Approcahing the Polychromy of Achaemenid Persian Architectural Sculpture, c. 520-330 BCE”

Norman, Naomi

nnorman@uga.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classics, University of Georgia
Dissertation (1980): “The ‘Ionic’ Cella: A Preliminary Study of Fourth Century B.C. Temple Architecture”

Ng, Diana

dmng@umd.umich.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Art History, University of Michigan-Dearborn
Dissertation (2007): “Manipulation of Memory: Public Buildings and Decorative Programs in Roman Cities of Asia Minor”

Ossi, Adrian

aossi@umich.edu
Dissertation (2009): “The Roman Honorific Arches of Pisidian Antioch: Reconstruction and Contextualization”

Ostrow, Steven

sostrow@mit.edu
Professor, Department of History, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dissertation (1977): “Problems in the Topography of Roman Puteoli”

Park, Helen

M.A. (1999)

Peña, John Theodore

tpena@berkeley.edu
Professor of Classics, University of California, Berkeley
Dissertation (1987): “Roman-Period Ceramic Productio in Etruria Tiberina: A Geographical and Compositional Study”

Pennanen-Hutchinson, Valerie

English & Professional Writing Program, Calumet College of St. Joseph
Dissertation (1983): “Bacchus in Roman Britain: Archaeological Evidence for His Cult?”

Perry, Ellen

eperry@holycross.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classics, College of the Holy Cross
Dissertation (1995): “Artistic Imitation and the Roman Patron, with a Study of Imitation in the Ideal Sculptures of Herodes Atticus”

Pollard, Nigel N.D.

Pollard@swansea.ac.uk
Lecturer in Roman History, Department of Classics & Ancient History, University of Wales,
Swansea, U.K.
Dissertation (1992): “Nota et Familiaria Castra: Soldier and Civilian in Roman Syria and Mesopotamia”

Powers, Jessica Davis

jessica.powers@samuseum.org
Associate Curator of Western Antiquities, San Antonio Museum of Art
Dissertation (2006): "Patrons, Houses and Viewers in Pompeii: Reconsidering the House of the Gilded Cupids"

Rabinowitz, Adam

arabinow@mail.utexas.edu
Assistant Professor, University of Texas, Austin
Dissertation (2004): "Symposium, Community and Cultural Exchange in Archaic Sicily and South Italy"

Rempel, Jane

J.Rempel@sheffield.ac.uk
Lecturer in Classical Archaeology, Department of Archaeology, University of Sheffield
Dissertation (2004): "Rural Settlement and Elite Representation: Social Change in the Bosporan Kingdom in the Fourth Century BC"

Reynolds, David

www.phaetongroup.com
Director and CEO, Phaeton Group
Dissertation (1996): “Forma Urbis Romae: The Severan Marble Plan and the Urban Form of Ancient Rome”

Ros, Karen

Lecturer, Department of Classics and Mediterranean Studies, Universityof Illinois at Chicago
Dissertation (1990): “The Roman Theater at Carthage”

Royer, Jacqueline

M.A. (1984)

Rubin, Benjamin

br4@williams.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Classics, Williams College
Dissertation (2009): “Augustus, King of Kings: The Roman Imperial Cult in Asia Minor, 31 BC - 14 AD”

Sanders, Helen

hmsanders@earthlink.net
Dissertation (2000): “Sculptural Patronage and the Houses of Late Hellenistic Delos”

Schindler, Rebecca

rschindler@depauw.edu
Associate Professor, Classical Studies Department, Depauw University
Dissertation (1998): “The Archaeology of Aphrodite in the Greek West: ca. 650 - 480 B.C.”

Schmalz, Geoffrey

gsc1@sfu.ca
Associate Professor, SNF Centre for Hellenic Studies, Simon Fraser University, British Columbia, Canada
Dissertation (1994): “Public Building and Civic Identity in Augustan and Julio-Claudian Athens”

Schoenbrun, Benjamin

Schoenbruns@verizon.net
Booz, Allen, Hamilton, McLean, VA
M.A. (1995)

Schwartz, Harriet Sue

M.A. (1980)

Shaya, Josephine

jshaya@acs.wooster.edu
Assistant Professor, Department of Classical Studies, College of Wooster
Dissertation (2002): “The Lindos Stele and the Lost Treasures of Athena: Catalogs, Collections, and Local History”

Shoup, Dan

danieldavid.shoup@unibo.it
Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Management, University of Bologna, Italy
Dissertation (2008): “Places of Power and Value: Meaning and Materiality in the Classical Archaeology of Anatolia ”

Sidebotham, Steven

ses@udel.edu
Professor, Department of History, University of Delaware
M.A. (1977)

Sobocinski, Melanie Grunow

mgsobo@umich.edu
Dissertation (2002): “Architectural Images in Roman State Reliefs, Coins, and Medallions: Imperial Ritual, Ideology, and the Topography of Rome”

Sobotkova, Adela

adelas@umich.edu
Research Fellow, School of Humanities, University of New South Wales
Dissertation (2012): “The Valley of Thracian Kings?  Social Complexity of Inland Thrace during Classical and Hellenistic period”

Stavrinides, Nicholas

hellenik@sonic.net
M.A. (1982)

Stirling, Lea

Lea_Stirling@umanitoba.ca
Canada Research Chair in Roman Archaeology and Associate Professor, Department of Classics, University of Manitoba
Dissertation (1994): “Mythological Statuary in Late Antiquity: A Case Study of Villa Decoration in Southwest Gaul”

Stone, David

dlstone@umich.edu
Dissertation (1997): “The Development of an Imperial Territory: Romans, Africans, and the Transformation of the Rural Landscape of Tunisia”

Summitt, J.B.

jbs@privateraise.com
PrivateRaise.com, NY, NY
Dissertation (2000): “Greek Architectural Polychromy from the Seventh to Second Centuries B.C.: History and Significance”

Swetnam-Burland, Molly

mswetnamnburlan@wm.edu
Assistant Professor, College of William and Mary
Dissertation (2002): “Egypt in the Roman Imagination: A Study of Aegyptiaca from Pompeii”

Trimble, Jennifer

trimble@stanford.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classics, Stanford University
Dissertation (1999): “The Aesthetics of Sameness: A Contextual Analysis of the Large and Small Herculaneum Woman Statue Types in the Roman Empire”

Tuck, Steven

tucksl@muohio.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classics, Miami University (OH)
Dissertation (1997): “Creating Roman Imperial Identity and Authority: The Role of Roman Imperial Harbor Monuments”

Van Rosevelt, Ann

Research Affiliate, Kelsey Museum of Archaeology
M.A. (1988)

Visona, Paolo

paolo.visona@uky.edu
Scholar in Residence, Department of Art & Adjunct Instructor, Modern & Classical Languages, University of Kentucky
Dissertation (1985): “Punic Bronze Coinage: Circulation, Mint Attribution & Chronology”

Welle, Doug

M.A. (1992)

Wilburn, Andrew

Drew.Wilburn@oberlin.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Classics, Oberlin College
Dissertation (2005): "Materia Magica: The Archaeology of Magic in Egypt, Cyprus and Spain"