Faculty

The faculty of the Frankel Center for Judaic Studies are committed to a multi-disciplinary approach to the study of Jews and Judaism.  Judaic Studies faculty come from all corners of campus and comprise a diverse and active community within the University.

 

  • Maya Barzilai

    Maya Barzilai

    Assistant Professor 4165 Thayer Building

    Modern Hebrew and German Literature, Jewish Culture, Film and Photography Studies; Twentieth century Hebrew, German, and Yiddish literature, Popular Culture, Visual Studies (particularly early film and photography theory), Translation Theory and Hebrew-German Bilingualism734.647.4240 / brmaya@umich.edu


  • Sara Blair

    Sara Blair

    Professor 3251 Angell Hall

    American Studies, Urban Studies, Jewish-American Literature, Visual Culture and Photography734.764.0428 / sbblair@umich.edu


  • Gabriele Boccaccini

    Gabriele Boccaccini

    Professor 4145 Thayer Building

    Second Temple Judaism and Christian Origins734.763.1595 / gbocca@umich.edu


  • David Caron

    David Caron

    Professor 4218 MLB

    Holocaust Literature, France, Gender and Sexuality734.747.2665 / dcaron@umich.edu


  • Deborah Dash Moore

    Deborah Dash Moore

    Frederick G.L. Huetwell Professor of History
    Director, Frankel Center for Judaic Studies
    Executive Committee Member
    2127 Thayer Building

    American Jewish History734.647.7862 / ddmoore@umich.edu


  • Todd Endelman

    Todd Endelman

    William Haber Professor of Modern Jewish History Emeriti 1029 Tisch Hall

    Modern Jewish History734.764.6305 / endelman@umich.edu


  • BIO-Freedman

    Jonathan Freedman

    Marvin Felheim Collegiate Professor 3036 Angell Hall

    Ethnicity in American Literature and Culture, 1870 - 2005734.764.0475 / zoid@umich.edu


  • Elliot Ginsburg

    Elliot Ginsburg

    Associate Professor 3016 Thayer Building

    Jewish Mysticism and Thought734.763.4670 / elgins@umich.edu


  • Zvi Gitelman 2012

    Zvi Gitelman

    Professor of Political Science & Preston R. Tisch
    Professor of Judaic Studies
    7759 Haven Hall

    Ethnicity and Politics, Russian and East European Jewry, Jewish Identities, Jewish politics and culture in Russia/Eastern Europe, Israeli politics, Jewish political thought and experience734.763.4393 / zvigitel@umich.edu


  • Karla Goldman

    Karla Goldman

    Director, Jewish Communal Leadership Program 3810 SSWB

    American-Jewish History and Community734.763.6583 / kargold@umich.edu


  • Caroline Helton

    Caroline Helton

    Associate Professor 229 Stearns

    Vocal Music by Jewish Composers734.615.3728 / chelton@umich.edu


  • Alexandra Hoffman

    Alexandra Hoffman

    Lecturer I 2018 Thayer Building

    734.647.3153 / aleksh@umich.edu


  • Mikhail Krutikov

    Mikhail Krutikov

    Associate Professor 3008 MLB

    Yiddish, Jews in Eastern Europe734.647.2136 / krutikov@umich.edu


  • Krzyzowski

    Marian Krzyzowski

    Director of Institute for Research on Labor, Employment
    and the Economy
    506 E. Libery St.

    734.998.6236 / mjsk@umich.edu


  • Julian Levinson

    Julian Levinson

    Samuel Shetzer Associate Professor of American Jewish Studies 5125 Angell Hall

    American Jewish Studies and Literature; Modern Yiddish Culture; the Bible as Literature734.764.2276 / jlevinso@umich.edu


  • Joshua Miller

    Joshua Miller

    Associate Professor 3187 Angell Hall

    20th Century Literature, Language studies734.764.5156 / joshualm@umich.edu


  • Regina Morantz-Sanchez

    Regina Morantz-Sanchez

    Professor 1029 Tisch Hall

    Jewish Intermarriage, Acculturation, and Politics in the American Progressive Period, Jewish women and American radicalism, American Jewish History734.763.2296 / reginann@umich.edu


  • Rachel Neis

    Rachel Neis

    Jean and Samuel Frankel Associate Professor of Rabbinic Literature, Executive Committee Member 2506 Haven Hall

    Rabbinic Culture and Jewish Visuality, Ancient Jewish History, Law and Religion734.647.4616 / rneis@umich.edu


  • Anita Norich

    Anita Norich

    Tikva Frymer-Kensky Collegiate Professor, Executive Committee Member 3074 Tisch

    Yiddish Literature, Jewish Literature, Literature of the Holocaust734.764.6341 / norich@umich.edu


  • Benjamin Paloff

    Benjamin Paloff

    Assistant Professor 3040 MLB

    Philosophy in/of Literature, Holocaust Literature and the Ethics of Representation734.764.5375 / paloff@umich.edu


  • Shachar Pinsker

    Shachar Pinsker

    Associate Professor, Executive Committee Member 4155 Thayer Building

    Modern Hebrew Literature, Modern Jewish Literature, Israel Studies734.764.8103 / spinsker@umich.edu


  • Eileen Pollack

    Eileen Pollack

    Professor 3187 Angell Hall

    Jewish-American Fiction, Memoir and Literature734.764.6574 / epollack@umich.edu


  • Brian Schmidt

    Brian Schmidt

    Associate Professor 3167 Thayer Building

    Hebrew Bible734.647.0069 / bschmidt@umich.edu


  • David Schoem

    David Schoem

    Adjunct Associate Professor 3210 LSA Building

    U.S Jewish Community, Identity, Intergroup Relations, Jewish Education734.615.6847 / dschoem@umich.edu


  • Andrea Siegel

    Andrea Siegel

    Lecturer I

    734.647.8812 / ansiegel@umich.edu


  • Scott Spector

    Scott Spector

    Professor, Executive Committee Member 3204 MLB

    Modern German-Jewish Culture and History734.647.0401 / spec@umich.edu


  • Ryan Szpiech

    Ryan Szpiech

    Associate Professor 4140 MLB

    The Literature of Medieval Iberia, Conversion and Religious Polemic734.647.2334 / szpiech@umich.edu


  • Jindrich Toman

    Jindrich Toman

    Professor 3040 MLB

    734.764.5355 / ptydepe@umich.edu


  • Ruth Tsoffar

    Ruth Tsoffar

    Associate Professor 2233 Lane Hall

    Gender, Ethnicity and Minorities in Literature in Judaism and Israeli Culture734.936.5766 / rtsoffar@umich.edu


  • Jeffrey Veidlinger

    Jeffrey Veidlinger

    Joseph Brodsky Collegiate Professor of History and Judaic Studies 2529 Haven Hall

    Modern Jewish history, modern Russia and Eastern Europe, oral history, culture and ethnicity, Holocaust734.647.4885 / jveidlin@umich.edu


  • genez.jpg

    Geneviève Zubrzycki

    Associate Professor 4112 LSA

    Jewish renaissance and non-Jews' interest in things Jewish in contemporary Poland; Polish nationalism, Politics of commemoration in Poland734.764.7501 / genez@umich.edu