Institute Fellows

Each year, the Frankel Institute for Advanced Judaic Studies gathers a group of fellows around a specified theme for collaborative research and scholarship.  This diverse and accomplished group includes scholars, musicians, artists, and writers from across the U.S., Israel, Europe, Canada, and South America.

 

  • Christine Achinger

    Christine Achinger

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Constellations of Alterity: Conceptions of Femininity and Jewishness in Modern German and Austrian Culture734.763.9047 / cachinge@umich.edu


  • Benjamin Baader

    Benjamin Baader

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Creating Self and Creating Community: Gender, Class, and Jewish Difference In German Jewish Family Letters and Diaries, 1813-1871734.763.9047 / bbaader@umich.edu


  • Rivka Bliboim

    Rivka Bliboim

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Language and Gender: The Case of the "Frecha"734.763.9047 / rikkib@umich.edu


  • dessel

    J.P. Dessel

    Louis and Helen Padnos Visiting Professorship in Judaic Studies 2139 Thayer Building

    734.615.8488 / jpdessel@umich.edu


  • Verena Kasper-Marienberg

    Verena Kasper-Marienberg

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Seeking Imperial Justice- Accounts of Conflict in the 18th Century Frankfurt Judengasse734.763.9047 / verenak@umich.edu


  • Dorothy Kim

    Dorothy Kim

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Medieval Women and English Exoticism734.763.9047 / kimdoro@umich.edu


  • Rachel Kranson

    Rachel Kranson

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Jewish Voices, Women's Choices: Jewish Involvement in American Abortion Debates, 1967-2000734.763.9047 / kransonr@umich.edu


  • Lehman

    Marjorie Lehman

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    The Gendered Rhetoric of Tractate Yoma734.763.9047 / lehmanma@umich.edu


  • Evyatar Marienberg

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    How Should Jews Do It? The History of Traditional Jewish Sex Instruction734.936.9047 / evyatarm@umich.edu


  • Anita Norich

    Anita Norich

    Tikva Frymer-Kensky Collegiate Professor, Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Kadya Moldovsky: Fact and Fiction734.763.9047 / norich@umich.edu


  • Shachar Pinsker

    Shachar Pinsker

    Associate Professor, Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Urban Cafes, Gender and Modern Jewish Culture734.763.9047 / spinsker@umich.edu


  • Max Strassfeld

    Max Strassfeld

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Classically Queer: Eunuchs and Androgynes in Rabbinic Literature734.763.9047 / maxstras@umich.edu


  • Beth Wenger

    Beth Wenger

    Institute Fellow 2111 Thayer Building

    Making American Jewish Men734.763.9047 / wengerb@umich.edu


  • Orian Zakai

    Orian Zakai

    Lecturer I 2159 Thayer Building

    734.647.3111 / orianz@umich.edu