Connections Conference

newest

LSA IT Connections Conference

The kaleidoscope of U-M Technology for Researchers

The conference took place on October 14, 2013, and links to captured presentations are below.

Vist M+Box to download copies of the slides:

https://umich.box.com/s/9kugadofcv0m44sgzbij


Library Technology Service Providers: 8-9am

Find out about our three libraries and what technology and services they offer to support
your research including citations, scanning, subject specialist, and hands-on learning.

Jen Green <greenjen@umich.edu> University Libraries

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p5p8l16x1xu/


Corey Seeman <cseeman@umich.edu> Ross School Business Library

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p1yw6u4erub/


Barbara Garavaglia <bvaccaro@umich.edu> Michigan Law Library

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p8rh8gl51lz/


Research Technology Service Providers: 9-10am

Find out about Advanced Research Computing, LSA IT Research Support and the
Center for Statistical Consulting and Research and what technology and services they
offer to support your research including Flux support, statistical help, and research
programming.

Sharon Broude Geva <sgeva@umich.edu> Advanced Research Computing

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p8wfvyzo9wd/


Erin Dietrich <ekassa@umich.edu> LSA ARS

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p3wq3dy0zt9/


Kerby Shedden <kshedden@umich.edu> CSCAR

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p1ck91b17dj/


Research Machine Service Providers: 10-11am

Find out about the technology and services provided by Safe Computing, LSA IT
Research Infrastructure, and MiWorkspace to support your research (
e.g., virus
software, machine setup, research servers, storage, and backup).


Paul Howell <grue@umich.edu> Safe Computing Services

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p9p5iuwepz2/


Marissa Green <mstornes@umich.edu> LSA Infrastructure Services

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p66ymps26j6/


David Sterling <dmstrlng@umich.edu> MiWorkspace - ITS

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p2ryl47c5gj/


Data Distribution Service Providers: 11am-12pm

Find out about the U-M Data Life Cycle program and services offered for sharing your
data with others.


Jen Green - overview of best practice for where to store

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p5xe3356nhx/


Laurie Sutch <lasutch@umich.edu> - Posting data personal websites

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p6vf4vmjei3/


Meredith Kahn <mkahn@umich.edu> Deep Blue

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p9sp4sm85tc/


Martin Knott <amuro@umich.edu>Data Citation Services

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p62cqljpvsb/


Amy Pienta Director <apienta@umich.edu> ICPSR Data Acquisitions

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p1xh59fsuc4/


Connection Central Lunch 12pm - 1pm

Michigan Union - Anderson Room


Computational Research Resources (Track 1)
High Performance Computing: 1-2pm

Find out about specific high performance computing services to support your research
including Flux, XSEDE, 10GB networking, and computing in the cloud.

Charles Antonelli <cja@umich.edu> LSA IT ARS - Flux

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p14ridj693d/


Brock Palen <brockp@umich.edu> CAEN HPC - XSEDE and Hadoop

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p8vdlsh99sp/


Dan Eklund- <eklund@umich.edu> 10G connection 'to the jack'

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p4705sxe8p0/


Traci Ruthkoski <truthkos@umich.edu> (ARC) - Amazon and Google

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p5rpwsebhog/

Visualization of research: 2-3pm

Find out about specific visualization computing services to support your research
including LSA’s Visualization machines and the U-M 3D lab.

Seth Meyer <smeyer@umich.edu> Cuda visualization

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p105m9atya0/


Justin Joque <joque@umich.edu> SANDS Library

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p8ffd2r4pyg/
Eric Maslowski <emaslows@umich.edu> U-M 3D lab

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p1549rpd6ke/


In the Field, On the Go (Track 2) 
Resources on Campus: 1-2pm

Find out about mobile, device and programming services to support your research.

Daniel Fessahazion <danfdan@umich.edu> Duderstadt Center Resources

Video on line at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p8bvr51ba46/


Monika Dressler <mdressle@umich.edu> ISS

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p4wvpjgl91j/


Julie Evershed <evershed@umich.edu> LRC

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p7fmibev915/

Field work and GIS: 2-3pm

Find out about services to support your research while you are in the field.

Peter Knoop <knoop@umich.edu> Field support and GIS

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p1mubgaeg9a/


Jason Tallant - Bio Station

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p4gxgtqgp9s/

Nathan Neimi Camp Davis

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p6obx06yg8i/


Lab Based Research (Track 3)
Specialized Services in LSA: 1-2pm

Find out about getting services and devices needed in your lab including microscopes,
custom-made items, NMR access, and record keeping with electronic lab notebooks.

Tracy Stevenson <steventi@umich.edu> NMR Center & Tech Services

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p3qp5p12rg8/
Michael Folts <folts@umich.edu> LSA Scientific Machine Shop

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p3nib5hg92z/


Gordon Moore <gmmoore@umich.edu> Microscopes

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p9tenkym0sv/


Dan St Pierre <dstpierr@umich.edu> - Lab notebooks

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p74a5px302r/

Structure and Materials: 2-3pm

Find out about labs that promote collaboration amongst researchers from across
campus.

McKague, Darren <dmckague@umich.edu> Space Physics Research Lab

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p6jd9hsf7y4/


Scott Peltier <spelt@umich.edu> fMRI labs

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p18b4b8zov5/


Chanda Phelan <cdphelan@umich.edu> SI Experimental Lab

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p61n7t7dy98/


Data, Digitization and Preservation (Track 4)
Existing Data: 1-2pm

Find out about existing data you can get access to for your analysis.

Tom Marini <tmari@umich.edu> Business School

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p5py3tjerrb/


Nicole Scholtz <nscholtz@umich.edu> Clark / SANDS

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p30tlyhvr17/


Lisa Neidert <lisan@umich.edu> PSC Data Archivist

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p35s9gwezbl/


Linda Detterman <lindamd@umich.edu> ICPSR - Data Delivery

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p4f5nuvjzcn/

Non Numeric Analysis 2-3pm

Find out about text based analysis and corpus data available at U-M and creating your
data from print materials.

Steve Abney <abney@umich.edu> Text Based Analysis tools

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p1bhyusm78e/


Ben King <ben.p.king@gmail.com> - Corpus resources

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p3u8rmqw7ai/


Justin Joque <joque@umich.edu> Digitizing OCR and Copyright

Video at: https://connect.umms.med.umich.edu/p8nkv4pagm3/