Thurnau Professor of Mathematics and LSA Associate Dean Robert Megginson received the Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics from the Mathematical Association of America. The award is intended to be the most prestigious for service offered by the Association, and honors distinguished contributions to mathematics and mathematical education.

Actuarial Program Director, Curtis Huntington, is featured in an article in the Fall 2008 issue of the LSA Magazine. The full article is available on the LSA website.

Professor Gopal Prasad has been awarded a Collegiate Professorship. His professorship will be named in honor of Raoul Bott, a member of the U-M Mathematics faculty from 1951-1959. A Collegiate Professorship is one of the highest honors the College and the University can bestow upon an eminent member of the faculty.

Associate Professor Stephen DeBacker has received an Excellence in Concentration Advising Award from the College of LSA.

Assistant Professor Daniel Forger has received a Young Investigator Research award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. Forger will study physiology modeling of circadian timekeeping. The Young Investigator awards support recent PhD recipients (<5 years) who show exceptional ability and promise for conducting basic research. The program aims to foster creative basic research in science and engineering, enhance early career development of outstanding young investigators, and increase opportunities for the young investigators to recognize the Air Force mission and the related challenges in science and engineering.

Assistant Professor Selim Esedoglu received a 2008 NSF CAREER award for his project “Analysis and modeling for image processing problems.” The CAREER awards provide early career development for faculty with outstanding potential.

Professor of Mathematics and LSA Associate Dean Robert Megginson has been named an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor. The Thurnau Professorships recognize outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. Megginson is the winner of numerous campus and national awards for excellence in mathematics education. He is credited with reforming introductory math courses to emphasize real-world problem solving and cooperative learning. He also re-designed the Mathematics Learning Center to focus on mastery of basic skills, leaving classroom time for learning the higher order thinking that is at the heart of mathematics education.

Anna Gilbert is the recipient of the 2008 National Academy of Sciences Award for Initiatives in Research. The award recognizes innovative young scientists and encourages research likely to lead to new capabilities for human benefit. She is being recognized for her work with innovative algorithms using wavelets and sampling techniques and their impact on data analysis and sparse approximation.

Trachette Jackson has been named one of the Emerging Scholars of the Year by Diverse Issues In Higher Education magazine. She will be profiled in one of the magazine’s 2008 issues. The scholars are nationally recognized for their research, educational background, publishing record, teaching record, competitiveness and uniqueness of field of study, and recommendations from other faculty members, department chairs and students. Diverse: Issues In Higher Education is America's preeminent newsmagazine that covers news and information about the ever-changing world of higher education.

Mel Hochster Conference was held July 31- Aug 5, 2008

Juha Heinonen Memoriam

Quasiconformal Mappings and Analysis on Metric Spaces
Memorial Conference
was held May 12-16, 2008

Robert Krasny has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society in the Division of Fluid Dynamics.  Election to fellowship in the APS is limited to no more than one half of one percent of its membership each year.

Associate Professor Kristen Moore has been awarded the Class of 1923 Memorial Teaching Award from the College of Literature, Science and the Arts. The award recognizes her outstanding teaching abilities and innovative classroom techniques.

Jeffrey Lagarias is one of the recipients of the Lester R. Ford Award from the Mathematical Association of America, awarded at the August Summer MathFest in San Jose, CA. Established in 1964, the award, which includes a citation and cash prize, is presented for articles of expository excellence published in the American Mathematical Monthly. Lagarias received the recognition for his article "Wild and Wooley Numbers," vol. 113, No. 2, 2006.

Hyman Bass has been awarded the National Medal of Science. The medal is a Presidential Award given to individuals "deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences." The formal citation for reads: "For his fundamental contributions to pure mathematics, especially in the creation of algebraic K-theory, his profound influence on mathematics education, and his service to the mathematics research and education communities. With his unique combination of gifts he has had enormous impact over the course of a half century."