Jeffrey Lagarias was appointed a George Polya Lecturer for the Mathematical Association of America in 2011-2012 and 2012-2013. The Polya lectureships were established to uphold the high expository standards set by George Polya. The lectureship entails giving invited talks at selected MAA Section meetings over the two year appointment period.

Michael Zieve gave a plenary talk at the 2011 Fall Central Section Meeting of the American Mathematical Society. His talk, "The happy marriage between arithmetic geometry and dynamical systems," described results he proved jointly with Michigan undergraduates Alex Carney, Geoff Iyer, and Feiqi Jiang, former Michigan undergraduate Ruthi Hortsch, and former Michigan graduate student Ben Weiss. Each of the four sections of the American Mathematical Society has two meetings per year, with four plenary speakers per meeting.

Matthew Elsey has been named the 2011 Sumner Myers prize recipient for best Ph.D. thesis in Mathematics. His thesis, entitled "Algorithms for Multiphase Motion with Applications to Materials Science," was written under the direction of Selim Esedolgu (Mathematics) and Wei Lu (Mechanical Engineering). His Sumner Myers Lecture will be presented on March 27, 2012.

Volker Elling is the recipient of a 2011 NSF CAREER award for his project "Non-Uniqueness in Inviscid Flow and Algebraic Vortex Spirals." The CAREER awards provide early career development for faculty with outstanding potential.

Robert L. Griess has been awarded a Collegiate Professorship. His professorship will be named in honor of Richard Brauer, a member of the U-M Mathematics faculty from 1948-1952. A Collegiate Professorship is one of the highest honors the College and the University can bestow upon an eminent member of the faculty.

Gavin LaRose has received the 2011 Matthews Underclass Teaching Award from the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts. The award recognizes his accomplishments in both the quality of teaching and the design and implementation of web-based learning tools.

Kristen Moore is the recipient of the 2011 Excellence in Concentration Advising Award, recognizing her work as a mentor and advisor to undergraduate and graduate students in the Department.

Hyman Bass, the Samuel Eilenberg Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics and Mathematics Education, has been appointed by President Obama to the President's Committee on the National Medal of Science.

Trachette Jackson has been selected to receive the 2011 Imes and Moore Faculty Award from the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts. The award recognizes her for serving as a role model for mathematical scientists and making exceptional contributions to students from under-represented minority groups.

Charles Doering has been named a Fellow of the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). Fellows are SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline.

Erhan Bayraktar, Susan Meredith Smith Professor of Actuarial Sciences, presented an Inaugural Lecture, Valuation Equations for Stochastic Volatility Models on March 22, 2011.

Stephen DeBacker has been named a 2011 Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, recognizing his outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. Thurnau Professorships honor those tenured faculty whose commitment to and investment in undergraduate teaching has had a demonstrable impact on the intellectual development and lives of their students.

Volker Elling, Assistant Professor, has been selected a 2011 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow. These extraordinarily competitive awards are selected from nominations of the best young scientists from the U.S. and Canada.

Karen Rhea, Lecturer IV and Director of the Introductory Mathematics Program, received a Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics from the Mathematical Association of America at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in New Orleans, January 2011. The award honors college or university teachers who have been widely recognized as extraordinarily successful and whose teaching effectiveness has been shown to have had influence beyond their own institutions. In addition to her outstanding work in teaching, Rhea is cited for her contributions to changes in the calculus curriculum nationally, and her work inspiring and developing other outstanding teachers. Additional information is available here.

Sijue Wu, the Robert W. and Lynne H. Browne Professor of Mathematics, was awarded the Morningside Gold Medal of Mathematics at the Fifth International Congress of Chinese Mathematicians, hosted in December by Tsinghua University, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and the Morningside Group. The Morningside Medal is considered the most prestigious award for Chinese experts in Mathematics. Wu is the first woman recipient in the medal's history.

Curtis Huntington has been appointed Chairperson of the Actuarial Board for Counseling and Discipline effective January 1, 2011. Established and supported by the American Academy of Actuaries, the Board responds to actuaries' requests for guidance on professional issues and considers complaints about possible violations of the actuarial Code(s) of Professional Conduct

Richard Yamada has been named the 2011-12 American Mathematical Society Congressional Fellow. The fellowship is administered by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and provides a unique public policy learning experience that demonstrates the value of science-government interaction, and brings a technical background to the congressional decision-making process.