To find out how to visit MCDB, please visit our location page.
The History of MCDB
In 1913, Museum of Natural History changed its name to Museum of Zoology.
In 1956, the Museum of Zoology was designated as a department of the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts. Starting at this time, half of the academic-year (9-month) appointments of the curators, evaluations of teaching effort, and the designation of tenure were transferred to the Department of Biology.
The Biology department split in 2001 into Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB), and Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology (MCDB).
About the Natural Science Building
Faced with a lack of space for a growing science curriculum, the Regents in 1913 asked the legislature for a $375,000 appropriation for the Natural Science Building, which was granted. Designed by Albert Kahn of Detroit, the building was completed in 1915 at a final cost of $408,000. The building originally housed the departments of Botany, Geology, Mineralogy, Zoology, Psychology and the School of Natural Resources (now the School of Natural Resources and Environment.)
Situated on the south side of North University Avenue, the building faces Hill Auditorium and stands on the site of the old Homeopathic Medical School. To the east, the building looks across the Mall at the Chemistry Building. The building forms almost a perfect square and is constructed of dark red tapestry brick with a trim of light terracotta. Kahn designed the building along principles gleaned from factory architecture, using regularly spaced steel and concrete piers for support, and maximizing the amount of light and window space.
Edward H. Kraus (Syracuse '96, Ph.D. Munich '01), Professor of Minerology, Dean of the Summer Session, Dean of the College of Pharmacy (1923–1933), was appointed Dean of the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts in August of 1933. The Natural Sciences Building was named in his honor. Learn more about the history of the Natural Science building.