Faculty

  • Vanessa Agnew

    Vanessa Agnew

    18th and 19th century travel writing; the intersections between music, natural history and exploration; missionization and colonization. 812 E. Washington St., Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1275

    vagnew@umich.edu


  • Kathryn Babayan

    Kathryn Babayan

    Early modern cultural history of central and eastern Islamdom (Iran, Iraq, Anatolia, Syria); heresy; gender; conversion.

    734.763.1597 / babayan@umich.edu


  • William Baxter

    William Baxter

    History of the Chinese language, history of dialects; non-Chinese languages of China; methodology of historical lingistics; semantic theory; distant language relationships. 5163 STB

    734.763.3704 / wbaxter@umich.edu


  • Gabriele Boccaccini

    Gabriele Boccaccini

    Second Temple Judaism and Christian origins; history and theology of Jewish-Christian relation from ancient times to the present.

    734.763.1595 / gbocca@umich.edu


  • Michael Bonner

    Michael Bonner

    Poverty and charity in the Islamic Middle East (600-1100); Arabia at the rise of Islam; redistributive practices in Arabia; GIS mapping of pre- and early Islamic Arabia. 4147 Thayer Bldg.

    734.647.0093 / mbonner@umich.edu


  • Prof James Borders

    James Borders

    Medieval music and Christian liturgy.  

    734.936.2189 / jborders@umich.edu


  • Pcture of Gina Brandolino

    Gina Brandolino

    Late medieval English literature; religious narratives, especially saints’ lives and miracle stories; early English literature and canonicity. 1322 North Quad

    734.615.9589 / gmbrand@umich.edu


  • mcbrown2012

    Catherine Brown

    Medieval literature; literary theory; comparative literature.

    734-647-2680 / mcbrown@umich.edu


  • Miranda Brown

    Miranda Brown

    Premodern China, especially antiquarianism and the history and historiography of science. 5155 STB

    734.615.7034 / mdbrown@umich.edu


  • Celeste Brusati

    Celeste Brusati

    16-17th century Netherlandish art and art literature; early modern ideologies of art and gender; self-imagery; print culture; technologies of vision. 170A Tappan Hall

    734.764.5407 / cbrusati@umich.edu


  • Professor of Greek and Latin, Classical Studies Program; Curator, Museum of Zoology

    H.D. Cameron

    Greek drama; linguistics; Greek orators; Plautus. 2140 Angell Hall

    734.764.7505 / hdcamero@umich.edu


  • Victor Caston

    Victor Caston

    Ancient and medieval philosophy, mind and metaphysics. 2203 AH

    734.764.6285 / vcaston@umich.edu


  • CS Chang

    Chun-shu Chang

    History and civilization of China to 1800: sociocultural, intellectual-literary, military-diplomatic, historiography, science and technology. 1757 Haven Hall

    734.763.2294 / cschang@umich.edu


  • Erdem Cipa

    Erdem Cipa

    Ottoman empire; Middle East; Balkans 3012 Thayer Bldg.

    647.4637 / ecipa@umich.edu


  • Alison Cornish

    Alison Cornish

    MEMS Director
    Medieval and Renaissance Italian literature, especially Dante and his contemporaries.
    University of Michigan

    734.764.4382 / 764.5344 / acorn@umich.edu


  • Anne Curzan

    Anne Curzan

    History of English, language and gender, corpus linguistics, historical sociolinguistics, lexicography, pedagogy, Old and Middle English language and literature. 3187 Angell Hall

    acurzan@umich.edu


  • Christian dePee

    Christian de Pee

    Tang-Song-Yuan China; representations of imperial power, text and writing; archaeology. 1632 Haven Hall

    734.763.6968 / cdepee@umich.edu


  • Madhav Deshpande

    Madhav Deshpande

    Sanskrit, Hinduism; linguistic history and the development of linguistic theory in India; cultural, social, religious history. 5016 STB

    734.647.2159 / mmdesh@umich.edu


  • Basil Dufallo

    Basil Dufallo

    Latin literature; Roman culture; text and image; performance studies; Classical reception. 2130 Tisch Hall

    734.615.0925 / dufallo@umich.edu


  • DworkinSteve

    Steven Dworkin

    History of the Romance languages, especially Spanish in the medieval and early modern periods.

    734.764.2413 / dworkin@umich.edu


  • Eliav

    Yaron Eliav

    Cultural environment of Roman Palestine with emphasis on the encounter between Jews and Graeco-Roman culture.

    734.647.4638 / yzeliav@umich.edu


  • Hussein Fancy

    Hussein Anwar Fancy

    Medieval Spain and North Africa; social, cultural and intellectual history of religious interaction; political theology and paleography. 2528 Haven Hall

    734.647.5409 / fancy@umich.edu


  • Benjamin Fortson

    Benjamin Fortson

    Greek and Latin language and literature and historical linguistics. 2150 Angell Hall

    734.764.1579 / fortsonb@umich.edu


  • Katherine French

    Katherine French

    Medieval and early modern England. 1733 Haven Hall

    frenchk@umich.edu


  • John and Teresa D'Arms Distinguished University Professor of Classics and Roman Law

    Bruce Frier

    Roman law, Roman social and economic history, Hellenistic and Roman historiography and political science, ancient architecture, and numismatics. 2119 Angell Hall, 435 Hutchins Hall or 535 Legal Research

    734.936.3022 / bwfrier@umich.edu


  • E. Garcia Santo-Tomas 3

    Enrique García Santo-Tomás

    Early modern Spanish literature.

    734.637.2333 / enriqueg@umich.edu


  • Elaine Gazda

    Elaine Gazda

    Roman art, especially that of the private realm; copying and emulation in Roman art; uses made of Roman art by the italian fascist government.

    734.647.0438 / gazda@umich.edu


  • Elliot Ginsburg

    Elliot Ginsburg

    Jewish mysticism; ritual studies; emotion and the senses; Hasidism; medieval and modern Jewish thought; notions of time and sacred time.

    734.763.4670 / elgins@umich.edu


  • Dena Goodman

    Dena Goodman

    Intellectual history of early modern France, with particular interest in women and gender, issues related to epistolarity, material culture, and consumption. 2144 Lane Hall

    734.647.0771 / goodmand@umich.edu


  • Linda Gregerson

    Linda Gregerson

    Early modern English drama; lyric and narrative poetry; Reformation nationalism; subject formation; colonialism; conversion. University of Michigan

    734.764.6369 / gregerso@umich.edu


  • Gottfried Hagen

    Gottfried Hagen

    Ottoman historical, political, geographical writings; Ottoman Islam and Muslim religiosity; pre-19th century Ottoman history; Ottoman-Turkish language; Turkish history.

    734.763.1596 / ghagen@umich.edu


  • David Hancock

    David J. Hancock

    Business and Economic History;Atlantic World;Early-Modern Britain and Empire;Early-Modern Portugal and Empire;Colonial America 2767 Haven Hall

    734.763.7859 / hancockd@umich.edu


  • Sharon Herbert

    Sharon Herbert

    Greek archaeology, vase painting, Hellenistic Near East. Kelsey Museum

    734.647.0446 / sherbert@umich.edu


  • Barbara Hodgdon

    Barbara Hodgdon

    Renaissance drama. University of Michigan

    734.424.2597 / hodgdonb@umich.edu


  • George Hoffmann

    George Hoffmann

    Sixteenth century French literature, Renaissance studies. 4126 MLB 1275

    734.647.2329 / georgeh@umich.edu


  • Megan Holmes

    Megan Holmes

    Italian Renaissance social and cultural history; monasticism and the arts; sacred images in the Renaissance. 150B Tappan Hall

    734.763.0517 / holmesml@umich.edu


  • Diane Owen Hughes

    Medieval and early modern history with a focus on social representation and visual culture; mapping; costume; Mediterranean cultural diplomacy. 2507 Haven Hall

    734.764.8547 / dohughes@umich.edu


  • Sue Juster

    Susan Juster

    Early American history; women and religion. 2521 Haven Hall

    734.763.7858 / sjuster@umich.edu


  • Valerie Kivelson

    Valerie A. Kivelson

    Medieval and early modern Russia; history of cartography; comparative witchcraft, religion, politics and culture. 2743 Haven Hall

    734.763.2049 / vkivelso@umich.edu


  • Alexander Knysh

    Alexander Knysh

    Social and religious history of South Arabia, especially the Cult of Saints; local manuscript traditions; teaching institutions; social stratification; tribal organization.

    734.615.1963 / alknysh@umich.edu


  • Victor Lieberman

    Victor B. Lieberman

    Political, economic and cultural change in mainland SE Asia c. 800-1850, with an emphasis on Eurasian comparisons in this period. 1741 Haven Hall

    734.763.4771 / eurasia@umich.edu


  • Rudi Lindner

    Rudi Lindner

    Medieval world; Ottoman; astrophysics. 1672 Haven Hall

    rpl@umich.edu


  • Loeb

    Louis Loeb

    History of 17th and 18th century European philosophy, especially Descartes and Hume. 2243 AH

    734.764.6285 / lloeb@umich.edu


  • Donald Lopez

    Donald S. Lopez Jr.

    Late Indian Mahayana Buddhism; Tibetan Buddhism. 6111 STB

    734.615.1331 / dlopez@umich.edu


  • Karla Mallette

    Karla Mallette

    Medieval Mediterranean literature in Italian, Arabic, Latin; translation between Greek, Arabic and Latin during the Middle Ages. 4010 MLB 1275

    734.647.2351 / alrak@umich.edu


  • Joyce Marcus

    Ethno-history; early complex societies in Mexico, Central and South America; Mayan, Zapotec, Andean civilizations from 300-1600 AD. 4038 Museums

    734.763.5164 / joymar@umich.edu


  • Lecturer II in Classical Studies

    Donka Markus

    Post-classical Latin. 2143A Angell Hall

    734.615.3534 / markusdd@umich.edu


  • Jonathan Marwil

    Jonathan Marwil

    17th century England, literature of war. 2632 Haven Hall

    734.647.5418 / jmarwil@umich.edu


  • Peggy McCracken

    Peggy McCracken

    Medieval French and Occitan literature, gender and sexuality, women's studies. 4108 MLB

    734.647.2338 / peggymcc@umich.edu


  • Stefano Mengozzi

    Stefano Mengozzi

    Lute; modal and hexachordal theory in the late middle ages and Renaissance, as well as on the musical repertory from that period.

    734.647.1890 / smeng@umich.edu


  • Laura S Miles

    Laura Saetveit Miles

    Middle English, Old English, Old Norse; devotional and visionary literature in medieval England; female literacy; manuscript studies.

    lsmiles@umich.edu


  • William Miller

    William Miller

    Icelandic sagas; emotions, particularly those that deal with self-attention and status determination. University of Michigan

    763.9014 / wimiller@umich.edu


  • Farina Mir

    Farina Mir

    Colonial South Asia; Islam in South Asia; history of the British Empire; language and society. 2757 Haven Hall

    734.647.5416 / fmir@umich.edu


  • Ellen Muehlberger

    Ellen Muehlberger

    Christianity in late Antiquity. 4163 Thayer Bldg.

    734.615.2960 / emuehlbe@umich.edu


  • Steven Mullaney

    Steven Mullaney  

    Early modern drama in relation to cultural and social dynamics; New World exploration and colonization; Reformation history; history of emotions in 16th-17th c. Europe.  

    764.6330 / mullaney@umich.edu


  • Rachel Neis

    History and Judaic studies; visuality in late antique Judaism. 2506 Haven Hall

    734.647.4616 / rneis@umich.edu


  • Susan (Scotty) Parrish

    Susan Scott Parrish

    Colonial American literatures, 1500-1800; history of science; nature writing; gift and epistolary theory; gender; ecocriticism.

    sparrish@umich.edu


  • Parsons

    Jeffrey Parsons

    Pre-indstrial complex societies, cultural evolution, ethnographic-historical-archaeological interfaces; Mesoamerica, Central Andes. 218-A West Hall

    724-764-7274 / jpar@umich.edu


  • Adela Pinch

    Adela Pinch

    Eighteenth-century British literature; lyric poetry; the novel; women’s studies; feminist criticism. University of Michigan

    764.6330 / apinch@umich.edu


  • dporter_print_quality.jpg

    David Porter

    Literary trends in China and England in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, involving excursions into world literature, translation theory, comparative political and economic history, and Ming dynasty philosophy.

    dporter@umich.edu


  • Martin Powers

    Martin Powers

    The role of the arts in the history of human relations in China, with an emphasis on issues of personal agency and social justice. 120A Tappan Hall

    734.764.5402 / mpow@umich.edu


  • Helmut Puff

    Helmut Puff

    German literature, culture, history of the 15th and 16th centuries; Reformation; northern Renaissance; gender studies; crime and society; humanism; materiality of textual transmission; history of printingpuffh@umich.edu


  • Esperanza Ramirez-Christensen

    Esperanza Ramirez-Christensen

    Medieval Japanese renga; Buddhism and medieval Japanese aesthetics; Heian women's writing and self-representation; theories and problems of translation.

    qmz@umich.edu


  • David Rolston

    David Rolston

    Chinese middle period; premodern drama and fiction.

    734.647.2097 / drolston@umich.edu


  • Cathy Sanok

    Catherine Sanok

    Middle English literature; women's textual traditions; hagiography; religious narrative; 15th century literature and culture. University of Michigan

    764.6330
    / sanok@umich.edu


  • Arlene Saxonhouse

    Arlene Saxonhouse

    Early modern political thought, especially Machiavelli and Thomas Hobbes; women in the history of political thought; democratic theory.

    awsaxon@umich.edu


  • Tad Schmaltz

    Tad Schmaltz

    History of early modern philosophy; philosophy of science. 2231 AH

    734.764.6285 / tschmalt@umich.edu


  • Michael Schoenfeldt

    Michael Schoenfeldt  

    Early modern English literature; early modern history; courtesy literature; history of medicine; religious literature. University of Michigan

    764.6378 / mcschoen@umich.edu


  • Ruth Scodel

    Ruth Scodel

    Homer and Greek tragedy. 2144 Angell Hall

    734.936.6098 / rscodel@umich.edu


  • Elizabeth Sears

    Elizabeth Sears

    European representational arts of the High and Later Middle Ages, especially manuscript illumination, religious and secular iconography and historiography. 150E Tappan Hall

    734.763.6110 / esears@umich.edu


  • simons 2

    Patricia Simons

    Art of Renaissance Italy, especially the representation of sexuality and gender; gender and sexuality, especially same-sex between women; history of medicine; baroque art. 170B Tappan Hall

    734.763.5073 / patsimon@umich.edu


  • Carla Sinopoli

    Carla Sinopoli

    Archaeology of South India; Vijayanagara Empire (14-17 c); political economy and craft production. 4030 Museums

    734.764.0484 / sinopoli@umich.edu


  • Soo_Lydia

    Lydia Soo

    Renaissance and baroque architecture; history of architectural theory; history of 17th century science.

    734.936.0208 / lmsoo@umich.edu


  • Cynthia Sowers

    Literature and the visual arts of late antiquity and the early medieval period.

    734.647.4348 / cindysrs@umich.edu


  • Paolo Squatriti

    Paolo Squatriti

    Early medieval Europe; the Mediterranean; environmental history; technology. 2727 Haven Hall / 4403 MLB

    734.647.4897 / pasqua@umich.edu


  • Louise Stein

    Louise Stein

    Early modern music, theater, and society; theater and opera; Latin American colonial music and literature; Spanish music and culture; baroque and Renaissance music.

    lkstein@umich.edu


  • Ryan Szpiech

    Ryan Szpiech

    Cultures and literatures of medieval Iberia, especially interaction, exchange, and conflict; the concept of translation as a tool for defining the relations between Jews, Muslims, and Christians. 4140 MLB 1275

    734.647.2334 / szpiech@umich.edu


  • Chaucer

    Karla Taylor

    Chaucer; Dante; Middle English literature; 14th century English-Italian literary and cultural relations; medieval ideas of history and literature.

    734.764.6363 / kttaylor@umich.edu


  • Achim_Timmerman

    Achim Timmermann

    Medieval art and architecture; Northern Renaissance art. 150A Tappan Hall

    734.763.6112 / achimtim@umich.edu


  • Theresa Tinkle

    Theresa Tinkle  

    Medieval English and Latin literature, drama; medieval and early modern Bible reception; gender and religion; manuscript and early print culture; Christian images of Islam and Judaism. University of Michigan

    764.6330 / tinkle@umich.edu


  • Hitomi Tonomura

    Hitomi Tonomura

    History, society, and cultures of premodern Japan through the 18th century; sexuality; birth-giving; gender relations; masculinity; property relations; autobiography. 1719 Haven Hall / 1521 Haven Hall

    734.647.7298 / tomitono@umich.edu


  • Tom Toon

    Thomas Toon

    Old English, early Middle English; early English paleography and manuscript studies; regional and social dialectology. University of Michigan

    764.6330 / ttoon@umich.edu


  • Valerie Traub

    Valerie Traub

    Early modern cultural studies, especially Renaissance drama; gender studies, queer studies, and the history of sexuality.

    763.2047 / traubv@umich.edu


  • Douglas Trevor

    Douglas Trevor

    Sixteenth and 17th century English literature, especially Spenser, Shakespeare, Donne, and Milton; the history of the passions; religion.

    dtrevor@umich.edu


  • Ray Van Dam

    Ray Van Dam

    Social and cultural history of the Roman empire, early medieval Mediterranean and early Byzantium. 2733 Haven Hall

    734.763.1193 / rvandam@umich.edu


  • BIO-Verdesio

    Gustavo Verdesio

    Colonial Latin America; pre-Columbian cultures; the conquest and colonization of the Americas. 4212 MLB

    734.647.2645 / verdesio@umich.edu


  • Martin Walsh

    Martin Walsh

    Medieval dramas; medieval and early modern popular culture, especially festivals; Cult of the Saints.

    734.647.4653 / narenlob@umich.edu


  • Rudolph Ware

    Rudolph (Butch) Ware

    Africa, West Africa; Islam, Sufism; slavery; African-American, African diaspora. 2510 Haven Hall

    734.647.7943 / rudyware@umich.edu


  • Steven Whiting

    Steven M. Whiting

    Eighteenth century music history in Europe, especially Hayden, Mozart, Beethoven.

    734.764.0590 / stevenmw@umich.edu


  • Tom Willette

    Thomas Willette

    Italian Renaissance and baroque. 10B Tappan Hall

    734.936.0285 / willette@umich.edu


  • Gernot W.

    Gernot Windfuhr

    Persian language, linguistics, literature, culture; pre-Islamic Iranian languages and religions; Zoroastrianism.

    windfuhr@umich.edu