John Stephenson Perrin Professor Peter Railton

Assistant Professor Maria Lasonen Aarnio

PhD students Patrick Shirreff and Damian Wassel

Professor Daniel Jacobson

Associate Professor Ishani Maitra

Assistant Professor David Baker

Assistant Professor Chandra Sripada

Marshall M. Weinberg Professor Brian Weatherson

Welcome to the Department of Philosophy

2015 Tanner Lecture

Michigan has ranked among the top five philosophy doctoral programs nationally and top six departments internationally in assessments spanning five decades, with strengths in all the main areas of philosophy — ethics, epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of language & mind, philosophy of science, and aesthetics — and in the history of Western philosophy, from antiquity to the present. We encourage interdisciplinary work, to take advantage of the University’s great strength across fields, and offer courses of special interest to students in Art and Design, Classical Studies, Economics, History, Law, Linguistics, Mathematics, Music, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Psychiatry, and Women’s Studies. The Department traces its origins to 1843, when a professorship of moral intellectual sciences was first occupied, and has included many illustrious faculty, such as John Dewey and Charles Stevenson, since then.

Give online


Undergraduate Advising Appointment

Program in Philosophy, Politics & Economics (PPE)

Fall '14 Philosophy Courses

Winter '15 Philosophy Courses

Winter '15 Course Descriptions



Sustainable Workplace