Awards and Scholarships

At the University of Michigan, students have the opportunity to take part in a wide range of activities that bring distinction not only to themselves, but also to the University. Here are some special awards, honors and scholarships that reward the efforts of Political Science concentrators.

The William Jennings Bryan PrizeAwarded to graduating students who show the most promise

The Undergraduate Affairs Committee decides the winners of the William Jennings Bryan Prize, which is given to members of the graduating class who show the most promise in the field of Political Science. A special designation for leadership is given to the winner of the Bryan Prize who has been active in the department's clubs and who has demonstrated the ability to empower others.

The Frank Grace AwardFor the most outstanding paper

In 2014, the Frank Grace Award will be awarded to the undergraduate student who has the best honors thesis in political science. The recipient will be announced at the department's reception for honors students on May 2.

Samuel J. Eldersveld Writing Contest

The annual Samuel J. Eldersveld Writing Contest is sponsored by Sigma Iota Rho (International Relations Honors Society) and Pi Sigma Alphs (Political Science Honors Society).  The contest is open to first and second year students who write a paper which addresses one of the following four categories: 

  • World Politics
  • American Politics
  • Comparative Politics
  • Political Theory/Methods

Papers should not exceed 10 pages in length, single-spaced.  A winning paper from each category will be chosen as well as an overall winner.  

Other Awards

Applications for other scholarships are also available through the LS&A Honors Program and the LS&A Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships

Information about international grants is available from the web site of the International Institute.