Graduate Program Faculty

  • Paulina Alberto

    Paulina Alberto

    Associate Professor of Spanish, Portuguese, and History
    On Leave 2013-2014
    4422 MLB 1275

    Modern Latin American History and Historiography; Brazil and Argentina; Ideologies of Race, Nation, and Citizenship; Intellectual/Cultural History; Afro-Latin America/Diaspora734.763.3208 / palberto@umich.edu


  • Fernando Arenas

    Fernando Arenas

    Professor of Lusophone African, Brazilian, and Portuguese Studies 4202 MLB 1275

    734.647.2337 / farenas@umich.edu


  • Giorgio Bertellini

    Giorgio Bertellini

    Associate Professor of Italian and Screen Arts and Cultures 6330 North Quad. 1045

    Silent Cinema History, Transnational Visual Culture, Italian Cinema734.763.1144 / giorgiob@umich.edu


  • Vincenzo Binetti

    Vincenzo A. Binetti

    Professor of Italian
    On Leave Fall 2013
    4004 MLB 1275

    19th-20th Century Italian Literature; Cultural Studies; Film; the radical movements of the 1960s and 1970s; relations between Literature, Philosophy, and Political Theory734.647.2685 / vbinetti@umich.edu


  • Catherine Brown

    Catherine Brown

    Associate Professor of Romance Languages
    On Leave Fall 2013
    4002 MLB 1275

    medieval Iberian Romance and Latin literatures, early medieval Iberian visual and textual cultures, history of the book, medieval theory734.647.2680 / mcbrown@umich.edu


  • caron interim

    David Caron

    Professor of French
    Interim Graduate Chair
    4218 MLB 1275

    20th-21st Century literature and culture, Queer Studies, HIV/AIDS, Holocaust & Jewish Studies, World Queer Cinema734.647.2665 / dcaron@umich.edu


  • Alina Clej

    Alina Clej

    Associate Professor of French

    19th and 20th Century French Literature and Culture; Comparative Literature; European Studies; 20th Century Art and Architecture734-647-2331 / aclej@umich.edu


  • Alison Cornish

    Alison Cornish

    Professor of Italian 4216 MLB 1275

    Italian Literature, Medieval and Renaissance, Dante, Translation, Vernacularity, Science and Literature, Music and Literature, Renaissance Drama734.764.4382 / acorn@umich.edu


  • Nilo Couret

    Nilo Couret

    Assistant Professor of Spanish MLB 4214

    Latin American Cinema and Popular Culture, Post-Independence Cinemas of Africa and Asia, European Cinema, Trauma Studies and Affect Theory, Postcolonial Studies, Film and Media Theoriesncouret@umich.edu


  • Steven Dworkin

    Steven Dworkin

    Professor of Romance Linguistics and Spanish
    On Leave 2013-2014
    4144 MLB 1275

    Linguistics, Medieval Spanish Linguistics734.764.4381 / dworkin@umich.edu


  • Frieda Ekotto

    Frieda Ekotto

    Professor of French 4124 MLB 1275

    20th and 21st century literature, culture and cinema, Africana Studies, Critical Race Theory and Comparative Literature734.764.5368 / ekotto@umich.edu


  • Olga Gallego

    Olga Gallego

    Lecturer IV of Spanish 4022 MLB 1275

    Elementary Language Instruction, Applied Linguistics/Second Language Acquisition734.647.2354 / ogallego@umich.edu


  • E. Garcia Santo-Tomas 3

    Enrique García Santo-Tomás

    Professor of Spanish

    Early Modern Spanish Literature734.647.2333 / enriqueg@umich.edu


  • Mayte Green-Mercado

    Marya T. Green-Mercado

    Assistant Professor of Mediterranean Studies MLB 4402

    Religious, cultural, and political history of the early modern Iberian, Mediterranean, and Islamic worldsmgreenme@umich.edu


  • Romana Habekovic

    Romana Habekovic

    Senior Lecturer Of Italian 4012 MLB 1275

    Foreign Language Methodology, Contemporary Italian Literature and Culture734.764.5327 / romanah@umich.edu


  • Michele Hannoosh

    Michele Hannoosh

    Professor of French
    On Leave 2013-2014
    4208 MLB 1275

    Nineteenth-century French literature, art, and society; art criticism, relations between the arts; the city, Walter Benjamin, the history of modernity; the representation of history; parody; comparative literature; the Mediterranean734.647.2339 / hannoosh@umich.edu


  • Jarrod Hayes

    Jarrod Hayes

    Professor of French 4220 MLB 1275

    Contemporary French and Francophone Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Postcolonial Theory734.647.2670 / hayesj@umich.edu


  • Alejandro Herrero-Olaizola

    Alejandro Herrero-Olaizola

    Associate Chair
    Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Spanish
    4142 MLB 1275

    Latin American Literature, Critical Theory, Comparative Literature, Trans-Atlantic Studies, The Politics of Publishing, Censorship and Literary Markets, The Culture Industry734.647.2336 / aherrero@umich.edu


  • Juli Highfill

    Juli Highfill

    Professor of Spanish 4222 MLB 1275

    19th and 20th century literature, the Spanish and Argentine historic avant-gardes, material and visual culture, early cinema in Spain, literary and cultural theory734.763.5249 / highfill@umich.edu


  • George Hoffman

    George Hoffmann

    Professor of French 4126 MLB 1275

    16th-Century French Literature; Object Theory, Post-Secular Theory734.647.2329 / georgeh@umich.edu


  • Kate Jenckes

    Kate Jenckes

    Associate Professor of Spanish 4404 MLB 1275

    Contemporary Latin American literature, Southern Cone, literary and cultural theory, visual arts, cultural studies, poetry, testimony734.647.3028 / kjenckes@umich.edu


  • Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes

    Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes

    Associate Professor of Spanish
    Director, Latina/o Studies Program
    4408 MLB 1275

    Latin American, Caribbean and US Latino/Latina Literature and Culture; Theater and Performance Studies; Queer, Lesbian and Gay Studies; Women’s and Gender Studies734.763.0510 / lawrlafo@umich.edu


  • Victoria Langland

    Victoria Langland

    Associate Professor of History and Portuguese MLB 4406

    734.763.4624 / langland@umich.edu


  • Karla Mallette

    Karla Mallette

    Professor of Italian 4010 MLB 1275

    Medieval Mediterranean literature in Italian, Arabic, Latin; translation between Greek, Arabic and Latin during the Middle Ages734.647.2351 / alrak@umich.edu


  • Peggy McCracken 8/14

    Peggy McCracken

    Domna C. Stanton Collegiate Professor of French, Women's Studies, and Comparative Literature 4206 MLB 1275

    Medieval French Literature, Medieval Studies, Gender and Sexuality, Women's Studies734.647.2338 / peggymcc@umich.edu


  • Cristina Moreiras-Menor

    Cristina Moreiras-Menor

    Department Chair
    Professor of Spanish and Women's Studies
    4210 MLB 1275

    Modern and Contemporary Spanish Literature and Film, Psychoanalysis, Cultural and Political Theory, and Women's Studies734.647.2475 / moreiras@umich.edu


  • Daniel Nemser

    Daniel Nemser

    Assistant Professor of Spanish 4122 MLB 1275

    Colonial Latin American literature, history and historiography, race, Nahuatl textuality/indigenous studies.734.647.2328 / dnemser@umich.edu


  • William Paulson

    William Paulson

    Edward Lorraine Walter Collegiate Professor of French
    On Leave 2013-2014
    4224 MLB 1275

    18th- & 19th-Century French Literature; Literary Theory; Contemporary Literature; Relations of Culture, Science, & Technology734.647.2675 / wpaulson@umich.edu


  • Jaime Rodríguez Matos

    Jaime Rodriguez Matos

    Assistant Professor of Spanish 4136 MLB 1275

    Caribbean literature, Latin American poetry, Latino/a culture, political theory and philosophy734.764.4397 / jaimerod@umich.edu


  • Javier Sanjinés

    Javier Sanjinés

    Professor of Spanish 4204 MLB 1275

    Latin American Literature and Cultural Studies734.764.4396 / sanjines@umich.edu


  • Teresa Satterfield

    Teresa Satterfield

    Associate Professor of Spanish 4138 MLB 1275

    Romance linguistics, (first) language acquisition, bilingualism, syntactic theory, language variation and contact, computational models of language734.647.2332 / tsatter@umich.edu


  • Paolo Squatriti

    Paolo Squatriti

    Associate Professor of Italian 4138 MLB 1275

    Italian History and Culture; Medieval European History; Landscape and Power; Technology and Resource Use; Environment734.647.4897 / pasqua@umich.edu


  • Szpiech Place Holder

    Ryan Szpiech

    Associate Professor of Spanish 4140 MLB 1275

    Medieval Iberian Literatures, Converso Studies, Medieval Islam, Religious Polemics734.647.2334 / szpiech@umich.edu


  • Gustavo_Verdesio_RLL

    Gustavo Verdesio

    Associate Professor of Spanish 4212 MLB 1275

    Colonial Studies, Native American Studies, Pre-Contact Indigenous Societies, Material Culture, Popular Culture, Theory734.647.2645 / verdesio@umich.edu


  • Gareth Williams

    Gareth Williams

    Professor of Spanish 4130 MLB 1275

    Contemporary Latin American Literature, Film, and Cultural/Critical Theory (Deconstruction, Subaltern Studies, Postcolonial Theory, Cultural Studies)734.647.2337 / garethw@umich.edu