Academic Advising Center

(1255 AH) 764-0332

Our Mission

Consonant with Socrates' dictum that the unexamined life is not worth living, we encourage students:


The Academic Advising Center serves LS&A undergraduates by:

  1. Helping them make informed decisions about educational goals and the LS&A curriculum.
  2. Encouraging them to formulate an academic program appropriate to their individual interests and abilities.
  3. Assisting them in evaluating their academic progress and performance.
  4. Providing them accurate information about LS&A policies and procedures.
  5. Furnishing them an opportunity to explore the purposes of a liberal arts education.


General advisors maintain regular hours in the Academic Advising Center.

Pre-professional advising assistance also is available to LS&A students in the Academic Advising Center.

Interim Director

Louis Rice (lcrice)

Associate Director, First-Year Advising
Virginia Reese (vjreese)

Associate Director, Upper-level Advising

April D. De Conick (deconick)

Associate Director, Senior Services

W. Harry Marsden (hmars)

Ombuds, Katharine McKibben (kmck)

Administrative Assistant

Cathy Conway-Perrin (cconway)

Academic Advisors

Jan Afonso (jafonso)

Cindy Barhyte (cbarhyte)

Marge Carter (mlcarter)

Margaret Elias (melias)

Louise Freymann (pomona)

Walter Gray (waltgray)

Beth Hackett (bhackett)

Ann Hilberry (hilberry)

Marty McClatchey (mmcclat)

Toni Morales (weena)

Bob Pachella (pachella)

Bob Paslick (kitaroo)

Marsha Pumroy (mpumroy)

Doug Shapiro (dsap)

Serge Shishkoff (sershish)

Joe Summers (jsummers)

Wendy Woods (wwoods)

Leigh Woods (lawoods)

Specialty Academic Advisors

BGS, Tom Collier (tcollier)

BGS, Chalmers Knight (thinknow)

ICP, Helen Olson (hio)

Organizational Studies, Ruby Beale

Pre-professional Advisors

Pre-architecture, Bill Werner

Pre-business, Marl Horton

Pre-education, Ina Bell

Pre-engineering, Shawn Salata

Pre-law, Karen Wittkopp (klwitt)

Pre-med, Mark DeCamp (mdecamp)

Pre-med, Penny Morris (pcmorris)

Academic Standards Board
(1255 AH) 764-0311 or 764-0332

Members of the Academic Standards Board help students individualize their programs of study and may grant exceptions to College-level academic policies and degree requirements. A student may discuss with a member and, if necessary, petition in writing for a waiver or modification of College rules. They also administer academic discipline. The purpose of academic discipline is to help foster good performance and to protect a student's chance of graduating from the College.

Director

Chuck Judge (cjudge)

Assistant to the Board

Carolyn McCullum (cmpurple)

Board Advisors

Jeffery Harrold (jharrold)

Robin Stephens (robda)


lsa logo

University of Michigan | College of LS&A | Student Academic Affairs | LS&A Bulletin Index

This page maintained by LS&A Academic Information and Publications, 1228 Angell Hall

The Regents of the University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor, MI 48109 USA +1 734 764-1817

Trademarks of the University of Michigan may not be electronically or otherwise altered or separated from this document or used for any non-University purpose.