Sociology Winners of the University of Michigan Outstanding GSI Award

A number of Sociology students have been recognized with the University of Michigan Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award (awarded to Graduate Student Instructors who have demonstrated exceptional ability and creativity as teachers, continuous growth as teachers, service as outstanding mentors and advisors to their students, colleagues and others in need of their help, and growth as scholars in the course of their graduate programs.)  This award is one of the highest honors given by the Rackham Graduate School. 

Past winners from the Department of Sociology include:

  • 2014 - Jessica Wiederspan (Sociology and Social Work)    
  • 2013 - Sarah Crider, nominated by School of Social Work (Sociolgy and Social Work)
  • 2011 - Ya-Wen Lei (Sociology)
  • 2011 - Lynn Verduzco-Baker (Sociology and Women's Studies)
  • 2010 - Natalie Cotton (Sociology and Business Administration)
  • 2003 - Julica Hermann (Sociology)
  • 2001 - Mary Wright (Sociology)
  • 1997 - Amanda Lewis (Sociology)
  • 1997 - Linda McAllister (Sociology)
  • 1995 - Sandra Eyster (Sociology)
  • 1987 - Cheryl Hyde (Sociology and Social Work)
  • 1979 - Sandra Hinghorn (Sociology)