Faculty

  • Mark Ackerman STS

    Mark Ackerman

    Computer-supported cooperative work, human-computer interaction, social computing.

    ackerm@umich.edu


  • ranspach.jpg

    Renee R. Anspach

    Medical sociology, sociology of gender, social psychology.

    ranspach@umich.edu


  • C Badgley

    Catherine Badgley

    Ecology and environmental biology. 3030 Ruthven Museum

    734.763.6448 / cbadgley@umich.edu


  • K. Barald

    Kate Barald

    Developmental neurobiology, molecular neurobiology studies of developing neuronal cell and synapses and neuronal regeneration in the inner ear; studies of Neurofibromatosis 1; stem cell studies of neuronal, Schwann cell and heart development.

    kfbarald@umich.edu


  • Diana Bowman

    Diana Bowman

    Legal, regulatory and public health policy issues relating to new technologies, in particular nanotechnologies.

    dibowman@umich.edu


  • Leah Bricker

    Leah Bricker

    Youth STEM-related learning pathways and trajectories both in and out of school; social disparities related to youth interest and opportunities associated with STEM learning and practice; youth and scientist communication about scientific practice.

    lbricker@umich.edu


  • Miranda Brown

    Miranda Brown

    History of medicine and science in China, Chinese conceptions of time across the imperial era. 5155 STB

    734.615.7036 / mdbrown@umich.edu


  • John Carson

    John Carson

    History of science, history of the human sciences, 19th-century U.S. history, European intellectual history. 1765 Haven Hall

    734.647.7378 / jscarson@umich.edu


  • Douglas

    Susan Douglas

    Analyzing media texts, historical approaches to media and technology. 5376 North Quad

    734.764.0423 / sdoug@umich.edu


  • Paul Edwards

    Paul N. Edwards

    History of science and technology, espeically meteorology and information infrastructures. 3439 North Quad

    734.764.2617 / pne@umich.edu


  • A. Fadalla

    Amal Hassan Fadlalla

    Gender, transnationalism, health, reproduction, poverty, and population and development, local and global political economies (Africa, the Middle East).

    734.764.5513 / afadlall@umich.edu


  • Dario Gaggio

    Dario Gaggio

    History of technology and political economy. 2765 Haven Hall

    734.763.2297 / dariog@umich.edu


  • Will Glover

    William Glover

    Colonial and post-colonial South Asia, urban and architectural history, material culture, aesthetics of modernization

    734.936.0203 / wglover@umich.edu


  • Gabrielle Hecht

    Gabrielle Hecht

    Program Director, 2013-2015
    Science and technology studies; nuclear power and proliferation; colonialism and postcoloniality; labor; national identity; Modern Africa (Gabon, Madagascar, Namibia, South Africa); Modern France
    2666 Haven Hall

    734.647.7937 / hechtg@umich.edu


  • L. Hirshbein

    Laura Hirshbein

    History of psychiatry, health services.

    lauradh@umich.edu


  • Joel Howell

    Joel D. Howell M.D.

    Medicine, history and sociology of science. 2773 Haven Hall

    734.763.2289 / jhowell@umich.edu


  • Matthew Hull STS

    Matthew Hull

    Bureaucracy and governance, corporations, urban planning, material culture, communication technology, South Asia. 224-A West Hall

    734.763.5382 / hullm@umich.edu


  • Nancy Hunt

    Nancy Rose Hunt

    Africa; gender history; medicine, health, and the body. 1735 Haven Hall

    734.647.4887 / nrhunt@umich.edu


  • Anna Kirkland

    Anna Kirkland

    Director of Undergraduate Studies, 2014-2015
    Law and society, law and politics of health.
    2203 Lane Hall
    734.647.6181

    akirklan@umich.edu


  • Joy Knoblauch

    Joy Knoblauch

    Design and the human sciences, and the interaction between architecture, government and population.

    jknoblau@umich.edu


  • Rudi Lindner

    Rudi Lindner

    History of astrophysics. 1672 Haven Hall

    rpl@umich.edu


  • Erik Linstrum

    Erik Raymond Linstrum

    History of the human sciences, colonial violence, and books, reading, and translation.

    734.763.2289 / linstrum@umich.edu


  • Malcolm McCullough

    Malcolm McCullough

    Architecture and media arts.

    mmmc@umich.edu


  • Nakamura Headshot 2013

    Lisa Nakamura

    Digital media theory, digital game studies, ethnic studies, feminist theory, film and television studies, science and technology studies, race and gender in new media. 6330 North Quad

    734.936.2556 / lnakamur@umich.edu


  • rneuman.jpg

    W. Russell Neuman

    New and emerging media, media industries, media policy and regulation, political communication.

    rneuman@umich.edu


  • dnorthrop

    Douglas Northrop

    Central Asia, Soviet, and world/global history; environmental, ecological history; history of geology, seismology, earth sciences; space and mapping. 2519 Haven Hall

    734.647.4616 / northrop@umich.edu


  • Lisa Osbeck

    The history and philosophy of psychological science and psychological aspects of science practice.

    losbeck@umich.edu


  • jdos.jpg

    Jason Owen-Smith

    Economic sociology, organizational theory, networks, science and technology.

    jdos@umich.edu


  • Susan Parrish

    Susan Scott Parrish

    History of science, nature writing, gender, ecocriticism.

    sparrish@umich.edu


  • Shobita Parthasarathy

    Shobita Parthasarathy

    Comparative politics of science and technology; science, expertise, and democracy; politics of intellectual property; risk governance (particularly related to health, food, and the environment); genetics/biotechnology/biomedicine. 4202 Weill Hall

    734.764.8075 / shobita@umich.edu


  • Marty Pernick

    Martin S. Pernick

    History of disease, disability, health, and the body; history of ethics and value issues in medicine.

    734.647.4876 / mpernick@umich.edu


  • Holly Peters-Golden

    Holly Peters-Golden

    Medical anthropology including illness narrative, the construction of self and personhood in illness; the production of medical knowledge; risk; explanatory models of illness, and social construction of disease. 228 West Hall

    734.764.9941 / hollypet@umich.edu


  • Jean-Christophe Plantin

    Postdoctoral Fellow 7356 North Quad

    734.764.6298 / jplantin@umich.edu


  • Eric Plemons

    Eric Plemons

    Surgical practice and the production, circulation and application of expert knowledge on gender variant bodies. 222-B West Hall

    734.615.3293 / eplemons@umich.edu


  • Eric Rabkin STS

    Eric Rabkin

    Science and literature, science fiction and fantasy, technology and the humanities.

    734.764.2553 / esrabkin@umich.edu


  • Renee_photo

    Elisha P. Renne

    Medical/demographic anthropology, gender relations, Nigeria. 207-C West Hall

    734.647.9622 / erenne@umich.edu


  • Liz Roberts

    Elizabeth F.S. Roberts

    Critical study of medicine, science and biotechnology. 108 West Hall

    734.936.0642 / lfsrob@umich.edu


  • Robinson, Jennifer

    Jennifer Robertson

    Ethnography, robotics and cyborg technologies, eugenics, ideologies of blood, bioart, sex/gender/sexualities, Japan, Israel. 204-C West Hall, 170C Tappan Hall

    734.763.4682 / jennyrob@umich.edu


  • Joy Rohde

    Joy Rohde

    Co-chair, Speakers Series Committee, 2014-2015
    History of science and technology; history of the human sciences; science and technology policy; expertise and democracy.
    Weill Hall, Rm 4211

    734.615.6972 / joyrohde@umich.edu


  • Christian Sandvig

    Christian Sandvig

    New and emerging media; ethnography of new media use; media law and policy. 5385 North Quad

    734.763.0861 / csandvig@umich.edu


  • Scott Selberg

    Media, history, and bioethics. 5432 North Quad

    selberg@umich.edu


  • Perrin Selcer

    Perrin Selcer

    Co-chair, Speakers Series Committee, 2014-2015
    Global environmental history; history and sociology of science, focusing on 20th century environmental and human sciences; international organizations and international development; U.S. and the World

    pselcer@umich.edu


  • Stern 2013 Headshot

    Alexandra Stern

    Director of Graduate Studies, 2013-2015
    History of medicine, reproductive politics, and race and racial classification.
    1500 E. Medical Center Drive, L4000 Women's 0276

    734-232-4976 / amstern@umich.edu


  • Vaillant

    Derek Vaillant

    Analyzing media texts, historical approaches to media and technology, international and comparative media. 5443 North Quad

    734.615.0449 / dvail@umich.edu


  • Sari van Anders

    Sari M. van Anders

    Gender/sex and sexual diversity, sexuality, evolution, queer science, feminist science practice.

    734.647.6981 / smva@umich.edu


  • J. Vandermeer

    John Vandermeer

    Ecology, theoretical ecology, tropical ecology, agroecology. 2079/2081 Kraus Natural Science Bldg

    734.764.1446 / jvander@umich.edu


  • Tyler Whitney

    Tyler Whitney

    Theory and history of media; literature and science

    trwhit@umich.edu