Policies for Minors (Winter 2012-Fall 2013)

(Effective Winter 2012-Fall 2013 | Previous Policies | Current Policies)

  1. Each A.B. or B.S. student who wishes to complete an approved  minor must develop a plan for the  minor in consultation with a department or program advisor, who must also approve it.
  2. After developing a plan for its  minor with the student, the program or department advisor has the  minor entered on the student's record.
  3. The  minor is not an option available to students earning the B.G.S. degree.
  4. An individually designed  minor is not allowed.
  5. Students may not elect courses included in a minor by the Pass/Fail grading option.
  6. A department or program may include Experiential or Directed Reading/Independent Study courses that are graded on a Credit/No Credit basis in a minor, but all other courses in the minor must be taken for a grade.
  7. No course may be used to satisfy the requirements of more than one  minor.
  8. No course may be shared between the requirements of two  minors, or between a minor and an undergraduate certificate.
  9. A maximum of one course may be shared between the requirements of a minor and a major.
  10. If the  minor has prerequisites, courses used as prerequisites to a major may also count as prerequisites to the  minor.
  11. Advanced Placement credits may not be used to meet the requirements of a minor, but may be used to meet prerequisites.
  12. Courses elected to meet the requirements of a minor also may be part of the student's area distribution plan.
  13. A student must earn an overall GPA of at least 2.0 in the  minor, including any prerequisites.
  14. Courses that are part of a student's  minor may also meet the Language Requirement, the Upper-Level Writing Requirement, the Race & Ethnicity Requirement, or the Quantitative Reasoning Requirement.
  15. Students may not add, complete, or declare a minor after graduation, or convert a minor to a major after graduation.

College of Literature, Science, and the Arts 500 S. State Street, Ann Arbor, MI  48109 © 2016 Regents of the University of Michigan