Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology Faculty Listing

1121 E.H. Kraus Natural Science Building | 830 North University Avenue | (734) 764-2446 (phone) | (734) 647-0884 (fax) |

Professor Diarmaid Ó Foighil , Chair (7/1/14-6/30/17)

Professor Yin-Long Qiu, Associate Chair for Undergraduate Curriculum

Professor Patricia Wittkopp, Associate Chair for Graduate Studies

Professor Priscilla Tucker, Associate Chair for Museums Collections and Director of the Museum of Zoology

Professor Paul E. Berry, Associate Chair for Museums Collections and Director of the Herbarium

Research Scientist Anton A. Reznicek, Assistant Director of the Herbarium

Academics and Requirements


Mohammed Akaaboune, Neurobiology

James Bardwell (Rowena G. Matthews Collegiate Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology), Catalysis of protein folding

Kenneth Cadigan, Cell Signaling and Gene Regulation

Steven Clark, Plant development, molecular genetics

Robert J. Denver (MCDB/EEB), Developmental Neuroendocrinology

Cunming Duan, Molecular animal physiology

Richard I. Hume (Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and Director, Program in Neuroscience), Developmental neurobiology and cellular neurophysiology

Ursula Jakob (Patricia S. Yaeger Collegiate Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology), Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Daniel J. Klionsky (Alexander G. Ruthven Professor of Life Sciences), Cell biology

John Y. Kuwada, Developmental neurobiology

Jianming Li, Plant Molecular Physiology

Laura Olsen (Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and Director, Program in Biology), Plant Cell and Molecular Biology

Janine Maddock, Microbial development

Laura Olsen (MCDB/EEB) (Arthur F. Thurnau Professor), Plant Cell and Molecular Biology

Eran Pichersky (Michael M. Martin Collegiate Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology), Molecular genetics

Pamela Raymond (Stephen S. Easter Collegiate Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology), Neurobiology and Animal Physiology

John W. Schiefelbein, Jr., Plant molecular genetics and development

Dr. Mark S. Schlissel, M.D./Ph.D., (MCDB / Microbiology and Immunology; President of the University of Michigan), developmental biology of the immune system;  developmental biology of B lymphocytes, genetic factors in antibody production and its relation to leukemia and lymphoma

Associate Professors

Amy Chang, Cell Biology

Matthew Chapman, Biochemistry and Microbiology

Catherine A. Collins, Cell Biology, Develoment, Neurobiology, Animal physiology

Gyorgyi Csankovszki, Cell Biology

Anuj Kumar, Cell Biology and functional genomics

Erik Nielsen, Cell Biology, Development, and Plant Molecular Biology

Lyle A. Simmons, Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Development, Microbiology

Yanzhuang Wang, Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Patricia Wittkopp (MCDB/EEB), Evolution of Development

Haoxing Xu, Neurobiology and Animal Physiology


Assistant Professors

Sara Aton, Systems nerobiology, Neurobiology of sleep

Laura Buttitta, Developmental Control of the Cell Cycle

Monica Dus, Interactions between genes and environment and how they shape behavior; epigenetics and neurobiology

Ann Miller, Cell Biology and Biochemistry

Jayakrishnan "JK" Nandakumar, Structural biology, Cell biology, Biochemistry

Kimberly Seed,Bacterial defense systems used by V. cholerae to defend against phage attack, and the viral strategies used to overcome these defenses

Orie Shafer, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Animal Physiology

Stefan Walter, Biochemistry and Microbiology

Andrzej Wierzbicki, Biochemistry, Cell Biology, and Plant Molecular Biology

Kwoon Wong, Neurobiology and Animal Physiology



Rafiqa Ameziane, Neurobiology

Marc Ammerlaan (Hiroshi Ikuma Collegiate Lecturer in Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology), Microbiology

Kenneth Balazovich, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry

Lynn Carpenter, Phylogeography and Paleoecology

Sushama Denver, Animal physiology

Santhadevi Jeyabalan, Genetics and development

Diane Spillane, Molecular Biology


Associate Research Scientist

Raymond Barbehenn, Biochemical aspects of plant-herbivore interactions


Assistant Research Scientist

Nicholas Tolwinski, Development


Professors Emeriti


Professors Emeriti of Biology

Richard D. Alexander, Animal behavior, entomology

Charles B. Beck, Curator Emeritus of Paleobotany, Museum of Paleontology;
Paleobotany, plant anatomy

James N. Cather, Invertebrate embryology

William R. Dawson, Environmental physiology

Harry A. Douthit, Bacterial physiology

David M. Gates, Biophysics

Peter B. Kaufman, Plant developmental physiology

Michael M. Martin (Arthur F. Thurnau Professor), Chemical ecology

Thomas E. Moore, Entomology

Robert Shaffer (Lewis E Wehmeyer and Elaine Prince Wehmeyer Professor Emeritus of Fungal Taxonomy), Curator Emeritus of Fungi (Herbarium),
Plant taxonomy, basidiomycetes

David G. Shappirio (Arthur F. Thurnau Professor), Comparative physiology and biochemistry, cellular and developmental biology

Conrad S. Yocum (Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology / Chemistry) (Alfred S. Sussman University Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology), Plant biophysics


College of Literature, Science, and the Arts 500 S. State Street, Ann Arbor, MI  48109 © 2014 Regents of the University of Michigan