2010 Prizes

Excellence in First-Year Writing 2010, published by the Sweetland Center for Writing Prize Committee and the English Department Writing Program, features the prize-winning essays and portfolios from the inaugural First-Year Writing Prize contest in 2010. These five essays and two portfolios were chosen from among 80 faculty nominations representing nine different academic units, including Great Books, Classical Civilization, the English Language Institute, History, Slavic Languages and Literatures, Comparative Literature, and the Residential College, as well as EDWP and Sweetland.

Excellence in First-Year Writing

Kathleen Telfer Culture Clash: Aristotle and Visual Modernism and Postmodernism
Great Books 191
(nominated by Catalina Pereda)

Alexandra Park Forgetting to Remember, Remembering to Forget: An Analysis of Hyperthymesia and Anterograde Amnesia in "Funes, His Memory" and "Memento"
Comp Lit 122 (nominated by Basak Candar)

From EDWP, representing papers from English 124, the work of Michael Flood (nominated by Julie Babcock), Erin Piell (nominated by Sara Schaff) and Chong Guo (also nominated by Sara Schaff).

Sweetland Prize for Outstanding Portfolio

Thomas Yeh (nominated by Christine Modey)

Alex Liberman
(nominated by Jennifer Metsker)

First-Year Writing Prize Book edited by
Matt Kelley (Sweetland) and Chris Gerben (EDWP)

Celebration of Excellence in Undergraduate Writing Photos

First-year Writing Prize 2010