Chemistry Faculty  Among  Honor Society Inductees

Apr 16, 2014 Bookmark and Share

Five faculty from Chemistry were among the twenty-six faculty members and 292 students from across the university inducted recently into the UM chapter of Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, and is the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective honor society for all academic disciplines. The Society's mission is "to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others." Chapter 039 was established at UM in 1926, making it one of the society’s oldest.

In 2013, the Michigan chapter received its third consecutive Chapter of Excellence award, the highest honor the society bestows, and one of only five chapters to have achieved that distinction out of 325 chapters across the country. This year the Michigan chapter awarded Project Grants totaling $20,000 to extend learning beyond the classroom to its members. 

The inductees are:

  • Masato Koreeda, professor of chemistry, and medicinal chemistry
  • Anna K. Mapp, Edwin Vedejs Collegiate Professor of Chemistry; research professor, Life Sciences Institute; director of interdisciplinary programs, Rackham
  • Kathleen V. Nolta, lecturer of chemistry
  • Melanie S. Sanford, professor of chemistry
  • David H. Sherman, professor of medicinal chemistry, professor of chemistry, professor of microbiology and immunology, associate dean for research and graduate education, College of Pharmacy; research professor, Life Sciences Institute


From: University Record, April 15