2010 Alumni Achievements

Aug 03, 2013 Bookmark and Share

Michelle Chan Brown '07 published a chapbook, The Clever Decoys, with Love Among the Ruins.

Michael Byers '96 had a novel, Percival's Planet, published by Henry Holt. It was also published by Picador in the UK, as The Unfixed Stars. He also published a novella, The Broken Man, with PS Publishing.

Susan Comninos '91 won the 2010 Yehuda Halevi Poetry Competition run by Tablet Magazine.

Ronica Dhar (Bhattacharya) '97 published her debut novel, Bijou Roy, with St. Martin's Press.

Lydia Fitzpatrick '10 was selected for a Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing Fellowship at the University of Wisconsin.

Vievee Francis '09 was awarded the Cave Canem Northwestern University Press Poetry Prize for Horse in the Dark, which will be published by Northwestern University Press. A poem from the collection was also selected for The Best American Poetry 2010. Francis was also the receipient of a 2010 Kresge Artist Fellowship in the amount of $25,000.

Suzanne Hancock '04 published her second collection of poems, Cast from Bells, with McGill-Queen's University Press.

Joseph Horton '11 had a play, At the Broken Places, premiered by Savio(u)r Theatre company at LOST Theater in London before moving to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival in August 2010.

Laura Kasischke '87 had a novella, Eden Springs, published by Wayne State University Press.

Dana Kletter '09 was selected for a Wallace Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University.

Rattawut Lapcharoensap '03 was selected for a 2010 Whiting Writers' Award.

Eric (Breedon) Leigh '98 had a book of poems, Harm's Way, published by the University of Arkansas Press.

Tim Martin '93 won the 2010 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize for his first book, Stealing Hymnals from the Choir.

David Morse '03 had a play, Quartet, premiered by the Colorado Shakespeare Festival and the Tak√°cs Quartet October 30 - November 1 in the Grusin Music Hall in Boulder, Colorado.

Sharon Pomerantz '01 published Rich Boy, her first novel, with Grand Central Publishing.

Jessica Young '10 won the Bateau Press Boom chapbook contest. Bateau Press published Only as a Body in November 2010.