2011 Alumni Achievements

Aug 04, 2013 Bookmark and Share

Samiya Bashir '11 won the 2011 Aquarius Press Legacy Award.

Joshua Edwards '07 published Campeche, poems, with Noemi Press.

Gabrielle Hamilton ’97 published Blood, Bones & Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef with Random House.

Donovan Hohn '05 published Moby-Duck, The True Story of 28,800 Bath Toys Lost at Sea and of the Beachcombers, Oceanographers, Environmentalists, and Fools, Including the Author, Who Went in Search of Them with Viking.

Joseph Horton ’11 premiered his new play, The Toll, at the 2011 Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

Sara Houghteling '03 received the Harold U. Ribalow Prize from Hadassah Magazine for her debut novel, Pictures at an Exhibition.

Lizzie Hutton '99 published her debut poetry collection, She'd Waited Millennia, with New Issues.

Zilka Joseph ’09 published her second chapbook of poems, What Dread, with Finishing Line Press. Her first poetry chapbook, Lands I Live In, was published in 2007 by Mayapple Press.

Tiana Kahakauwila '08 announced she will publish This is Paradise with Hogarth Press in 2013.

Laura Kasischke '87 published poetry collection Space, in Chains with Copper Canyon.

Valerie Laken '01 published Separate Kingdoms: Stories with Harper Perennial.

William Lychack '91 published The Architect of Flowers, stories, with Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Paula McLain '96 published The Paris Wife with Ballantine.

Kate Middleton '11 was named the first Sydney City Poet in Sydney, Australia.

Derek Mong '06 published Other Romes, poems, with Saturnalia Books.

Benjamin Paloff '01 published The Politics, poems, with Carnegie Mellon.

Sharon Pomerantz '01 received the Foundation for Jewish Culture's 2010 Outstanding Debut Fiction award for Rich Boy.

Paisley Rekdal '96 published Intimate, a hybrid photo-text memoir, with Tupelo Press.

Rachel Richardson '04 published her first book of poems, Copperhead, with Carnegie Mellon University Press.

Jess Row '01 published a second book of short stories, Nobody Ever Gets Lost, with FiveChapters Books.

Meggy Wang '10 received a 2011 Elizabeth George Foundation Grant in the amount of $40,000 to help with the completion of her novel.

Jesmyn Ward '05 won the 2011 National Book Award in Fiction for Salvage the Bones.

Laura Wetherington '07 published A Map Predetermined and Chance, selected for the National Poetry Series by C.S. Giscombe, with Fence Books.