2009 Alumni Achievements

Aug 02, 2013 Bookmark and Share

Thomas J. Anderson, III '88 had a collection of poems, River to Cross, published by The Backwaters Press.

Brent Armendinger '03 announced he will publish Undetectable, a poetry chapbook, with Diagram, as well as Archipelago, his first full-length poetry collection, with Noemi Press.

Vievee Francis '09 was awarded a Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Award for 2009.

Sara Houghteling '03 published her debut novel, Pictures at an Exhibition, with Knopf.

Randa Jarrar '08 had the paperback edition of her debut novel, A Map of Home, published by Penguin. It is available in six languages.

Laura Kasischke '87 had a novel, In a Perfect World, published by HarperCollins.

Valerie Laken '01 published her debut book, Dream House, with HarperCollins. It was selected for Booklist's Top Ten First Novels: 2009.

Scott Lasser '89 had The Year that Follows published by Knopf.

Karyna McGlynn '07 published her debut poetry collection, I Have to Go Back to 1994 and Kill a Girl, with Sarabande Books. It won the Kathryn A. Morton Prize.

Kate Middleton '11 published her first poetry collection, Fire Season, with Giramondo Poets.

Bich Mihn Nguyen '98 published her debut novel, Short Girls, with Viking Penguin.

Nami Mun '07 published her debut book, Miles from Nowhere, with Riverhead. It was selected for Booklist's Top Ten First Novels: 2009. Miles from Nowhere was also shortlisted for the Orange Prize, and Mun was selected for a 2009 Whiting Writers' Award.

Michael Shilling '07 published his debut book, Rock Bottom, with Hachette Book Group.