U-M Department of English
U-M English Home

News & Events

RSS Feed

Recent News

Hopwood Award Winners

Posted: 4/12/2013 12:12:23 PM


The students listed below are the winners of this term's writing contests administered by the Hopwood Awards Program.  If one of these is your student, congratulations on your fine teaching!

The Hopwood Graduate and Undergraduate Awards Ceremony will be held on Wednesday, April 24 at 3:30 p.m. in the Rackham Auditorium.  Poet and environmentalist Gary Snyder will deliver a lecture following the announcement of the awards and there will be a reception in the Rackham Assembly Hall (4th floor) after that.  You are cordially invited to attend.

Winners of the 2013 Winter Term Writing Contests
Administered by the Hopwood Awards Program

Winners are listed alphabetically by area.

The Hopwood Contest


Hopwood Drama

Andrew McIntyre

Al Smith

Jacob Levi Stroud

Brita Thorne


Hopwood Novel

Blair Austin

A. L. Major
Chigozie Obioma

Jia Tolentino


Hopwood Screenplay

Allison Hawkins

Matthew Montgomery

Kyle Vinuya


Hopwood Undergraduate Nonfiction

Laya Charara

Jacqui Sahagian

Brita Thorne


Hopwood Graduate Nonfiction

Rachel Hoiles Farrell

Emily Waples

Maya West


Hopwood Undergraduate Short Fiction

Caitlin Michelle Kiesel

Matthew Pollock

Olivia Postelli


Hopwood Graduate Short Fiction

Brittany Bennett

Sheerah Tan Cole

Rachel Hoiles Farrell


Hopwood Undergraduate Poetry

Carlina Duan

Madalyn Hochendoner

Haley Patail


Hopwood Graduate Poetry

Mary Camille Beckman

Lauren Clark

Lizzie Hutton

Bruce A. Lack, Jr.

Nate Marshall


The Hopwood Award Theodore Roethke Prize

Kevin Phan


Other Contest and Prize Winners


The Andrea Beauchamp Prize

Rachel Hoiles Farrell


The Frank and Gail Beaver Script Writing Prize

Camille Duet


The Chamberlain Award for Creative Writing

Nathaniel Go

Melinda Misener


The Helen J. Daniels Prize

Brita Thorne


The Geoffrey James Gosling Prize

A. L. Major


The Paul and Sonia Handleman Poetry Award

Haley Patail


The Robert F. Haugh Prize

Caitlin Michelle Kiesel


The Kasdan Scholarship in Creative Writing

A. Brad Schwartz


The Dennis McIntyre Prize

Allison Brown

Milena Westarb


The Meader Family Award

Kenzie Allen

Jeremiah Childers


The Arthur Miller Award

Tyler Dean


The Leonard and Eileen Newman Writing in Fiction

Chris McCormick


The Naomi Saferstein Literary Award

Matthew Montgomery


The Stanley S. Schwartz Prize

Matthew Pollock


The Helen S. and John Wagner Prize

Lauren Clark


The John Wagner Prize

Maya West


View all recent news.

Dept. of English Language and Literature

home mission statement sitemap contact

U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on Facebook
U-M English on iTunes U
U-M English on YouTube

435 S. State Street, 3187 Angell Hall
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1003
Phone: (734) 764-6330 Fax: (734) 763-3128