Communication Studies Faculty Listing


Susan J. Douglas (Catherine Neafie Kellogg Professor of Communication, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor), Historical approaches to media and technology; Gender and the media

Kristen Harrison, Media effects; Children, adolescents and the media; Obesity, eating disorders and body image

L. Rowell Huesmann (Amos N Tversky Collegiate Professor of Communication Studies and Psychology), Media psychology; Media violence and human aggressiony

Amanda Lotz, Media industries; Television studies; Gender and the media

Robin Means Coleman (Communication Studies / Afroamerican and African Studies), Race and the media, Black popular culture, Audience ethnography

G. Patrick (Paddy) Scannell, Analyzing media texts; Historical approaches to media and technology; International and comparative media; Radio and television studies

Katherine Sender

Stuart N. Sokora (Michael W. Traugott Collegiate Professor in Communication Studies and Political Science), Political Communication; Political Representation; Public Opinion

Associate Professors

Scott W. Campbell (Constance F. and Arnold C. Pohs Endowed Professor of Telecommunications), New and emerging media; Mobile communication

Sonya Dal Cin, Media psychology; Health and the media

Nojin Kwak, New and emerging media; Political communication

Aswin Punathambekar, Media and globalization; South Asian media; Media industries and protection culture

Christian Sandvig (Communication Studies / School of Information), New and Emerging Media, Ethnography of New Media Use; Media Law and Policy

Derek W. Vaillant, Cultural history of radio; Broadcasting and sound studies; Popular music and media; International and comparative media

Assistant Professors

Megan Ankerson, New and emerging media; Web history; Visual culture

Reighan Gillam (Communication Studies / Afroamerican and African Studies)

Philip (Sol) Hart (Communication Studies / Environment), Health and the Media; Media and the Environment; The News Media

Muzammil M. Hussain, International and Comparative Media; Media Policy and Regulation

Shazia Iftkhar,  International and comparative media; Race, Ethnicity and the Media; Minority representation in the media

Joshua Pasek, Political communication; Public opinion; Survey research and design; New and emerging media

Muniba Saleem, Media Psychology; Media Stereotypes; Intergroup Relations; Ethnic Identify; Aggression

Julia Sonnevend, International and Comparative Media; Social Theory; Media Aesthetics

Brian Weeks


Anthony Collings, Critical journalism studies; Foreign news coverage; Journalistic ethics

Faith Sparr, Communication law; Freedom of expression; Internet, society and the law

Visiting Professor  

Louisa Lim (Howard R. Marsh Visiting Professor of Journalism)

Professors Emeriti of Communication Studies

Richard L. Allen, Intercultural communication, Blacks and media, persuasion, and propaganda analysis

W. Russell Neuman (John Derby Evans Professor of Media Technology), New and emerging media; Media industries, media policy and regulation;  and political communication

Michael Traugott, Political communication

Professors Emeriti of Communication Studies

Frank E. Beaver (Film & Video Studies / Communication) (Arthur F. Thurnau Professor), Film history, film production

Howard H. Martin, Rhetoric, persuasive communication

Marion Marzolf, Journalism history, journalistic ethics and criticism, information gathering

Alfred W. Storey, Group communication, pubic speaking, leadership training

College of Literature, Science, and the Arts 500 S. State Street, Ann Arbor, MI  48109 © 2015 Regents of the University of Michigan