Organizational Studies Faculty


713 David M. Dennison Building | 500 Church Street | (734) 764-6767 (phone) | (734) 764-6554 (fax) | | e-mail:

Professor Mark Mizruchi (Sociology), Director (7/1/12-6/30/17)

Associate Professor Jason Owen-Smith, Director, Barger Leadership Institute (7/1/11-6/30/14)

Academics and Requirements

Organizational Studies Advisory Committee 

Elizabeth Armstrong (Associate Professor, Sociology, Organizational Studies)

Wayne Baker (Professor of Sociology, Stephen M. Ross School of Business)

Stephen Garcia (Associate Professor, Organizational Studies, Psychology)

Victoria Johnson (Associate Professor, Organizational Studies)

Howard Kimeldorf (Professor, Sociology)

Fiona Lee (Professor, Psychology)

Mark Mizruchi (Professor of Sociology, Stephen M. Ross School of Business)

Jason Owen-Smith (Associate Professor, Organizational Studies, Sociology)

Carl Simon (Professor,  Mathematics, Public Policy, Complex Systems)

Twila Tardif (LSA Associate Dean for Social Sciences, Professor, Psychology)


Associate Professors 

Mark S. Mizruchi (Barger Family Professor of Organizational Studies), (Sociology/Organizational Studies) Economic Sociology, Organizations (Formal and Complex), Political Sociology


Associate Professors 

Elizabeth A. Armstrong, (Sociology/Organizational Studies/Women’s Studies) Collective Behavior/Social Movements, Cultural Sociology, Education, Sex and Gender 

Stephen Garcia (Psychology/Organizational Studies), (Social) explores the psychology of competition through the lens of social comparison processes; the impact of rankings on rivalries and its implications for maximizing joint gains and entering joint ventures

Victoria Johnson,  Historical and Cultural Sociology of Organizations

Jason Owen-Smith (Barger Leadership Institute Professor of Organizational Studies), (Sociology/Organizational Studies) Economic Sociology, Organizational Theory, Networks, Science and Technology


Assistant Professors

Michael T. Heaney (Political Science/Organizational Studies), American politics, interest groups, political parties, social movements, social networks

Sara Soderstrom (Program in the Environment/Organizational Studies), Organizational theory, corporate sustainability, organizational change, and social movements


Affiliated Faculty


Wayne Baker (Ross School of Business, Sociology)

Kim Cameron (Ross School of Business),

Gerald Davis (Ross School of Business, Sociology)

Jane Dutton (Ross School of Business, Psychology)

Andrew Hoffman (Ross School of Business, School of Natural Resources and Environment)

Howard Kimeldorf (Sociology)

Fiona Lee (Psychology)

Richard H. Price (Psychology)

Lance Sandelands (Psychology, Ross School of Business)

Carl Simon (Complex Systems, Mathematics, Public Policy)

Twila Tardif (Psychology)

David Winter (Psychology)

Oscar Ybarra (Psychology, Research Center for Group Dynamics)

Associate Professors

Jane Banaszak-Holl (Public Health)

Michael Bastedo (Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education)

Ramaswami Mahalingam (Psychology)

Diane Vinokur (Social Work)


College of Literature, Science, and the Arts 500 S. State Street, Ann Arbor, MI  48109 © 2014 Regents of the University of Michigan