2012 Alumni Achievements

Aug 05, 2013 Bookmark and Share

Natalie Bakopoulos '05 published her debut novel, The Green Shore, with Simon & Schuster.

Jaswinder Bolina '03 won the 2012 Green Rose Prize. His second collection of poems, Phantom Camera, will be published by New Issues in 2013.

Michelle Chan Brown '07 published her debut poetry collection, Double Agent, with Kore Press. Double Agent won the Kore Press 2011 First Book Award.

John F. Buckley '14 published Poets' Guide to America, collaborations with Martin Ott, with Brooklyn Arts Press.

Darcie Dennigan '02 published Madame X, poems, with Canarium Books.

Lydia Fitzpatrick '10 received a 2012 Elizabeth George Foundation Grant, and was selected for a Wallace Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University.

Rae Gouirand '02 published her first poetry collection, Open Winter, with Bellday Books.

Alyson Hagy '85 published Boleto, a novel, with Graywolf.

francine j. harris '11 published her debut poetry collection, allegiance, with the Wayne State University Press in the Made in Michigan series.

Chris Hebert '01 published his debut novel, The Boiling Season, with HarperCollins.

Tim Hedges '10 has been selected for a Pushcart Prize XXXVII for his story "Civil Twilight," published in the Gettysburg Review.

Joshua Henkin '93 published The World Without You with Pantheon.

Matthew Hittinger '04 published Skin Shift with Sibling Rivalry Press.

Scott Hutchins '01 published A Working Theory of Love with Penguin.

Laura Kasischke '87 won the National Book Critics' Circle Award for Space, in Chains.

Scott Lasser '89 published Say Nice Things About Detroit with W.W. Norton.

Danielle Lazarin '07 won Glimmer Train's April 2012 Family Matters Prize for "Spider Legs."

Henry W. Leung '13 published poetry chapbook Paradise Hunger with Swan Scythe Press.

Andrea (Kurtz) Lochen '08 will publish The Repeat Year with Berkley Books, an imprint of Penguin/Putnam.

William Lychack '91 won a 2012 National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship.

Hanna Pylväinen '10 published We Sinners with Henry Holt, and was awarded a 2012 Whiting Writers' Award.

Paisley Rekdal '96 published Animal Eye, poetry, with University of Pittsburgh Press.

Ben Stroud '08 won the 2012 Bakeless Fiction Prize for his story collection, Byzantium.

Katie Umans '03 will publish Flock Book, her first collection of poems, with Black Lawrence Press in August 2012. Flock Book was the winner of the 2010 St. Lawrence Book Award.

Franke Varca '11 won the 2012 "Discovery"/Boston Review Poetry Contest.

Jessica Young '10 will publish Alice's Sister, her debut poetry collection, with WordTech's narrative poetry imprint, Turning Point, in 2013.