2013 Alumni Achievements

Aug 06, 2013 Bookmark and Share

Rosebud Ben-Oni (Roseanna Lane) '02 published Solecism with Virtual Artists' Collective. She also received a 2013 CantoMundo Fellowship.

Margaret Lazarus Dean '01 was awarded the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize for Leaving Orbit: Notes from the Last Days of American Spaceflight. Graywolf will publish the book in 2015.

Ariel Djanikian '06 published The Office of Mercy with Viking.

Joshua Edwards '07 published Imperial Nostalgias, poems, with Ugly Duckling Presse.

francine j. harris '11 was one of three finalists for the 2013 Kate Tufts Discovery Award.

Tung-Hui Hu '03 published Greenhouses, Lighthouses, his third poetry collection, with Copper Canyon Press.

Benjamin Landry '13 will publish Particle and Wave with University of Chicago Press as part of their Phoenix Poets Series.

Raymond McDaniel '95 published Special Powers and Abilities, his third collection of poetry, with Coffee House Press.

Matthew Moser Miller '12 was selected for a Wallace Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University.

Christine Montross '98 will publish her second book, Falling Into the Fire with Penguin.

Chigozie Obioma '14 will publish his debut novel, The Fishermen, with Pushkin Press's new imprint, ONE.

Patrick O'Keeffe '00 will publish his book, The Victors, with Viking in March 2014 and with Bloomsbury in June 2014.

Diane Raptosh '86 was named the state of Idaho's Writer in Residence. Earlier this year, she was also named Boise, Idaho's first Poet Laureate.

Paisley Rekdal '96 was awarded the 2013 Rilke Prize. She was also one of three finalists for the 2013 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award.

Deborah Salem Smith '99 will have her most recent play, Love Alone, produced by The University of Utah and PlayMakers Repertory Company in the 2013-2014 season. Love Alone premiered at Trinity Repertory Company, where she is Playwright in Residence, in 2012, and was awarded the Edgerton Foundation New American Play Award in 2011.

Ben Stroud '08 published his debut short story collection, Byzantium, with Graywolf.

Ann Marie Thornburg '11 is one of the recipients of 2013 grants from the Culture & Animals Foundation.

William Bradford Wetherell '10 will be 2013-2014 St. Albans School Writer-in-Residence.