Diversity @

the University of Michigan
Department of Psychology

The members of the University of Michigan Department of Psychology are committed to creating and maintaining an environment of inclusivity that is welcoming to and supporting of individuals from all social identity groups. We believe that diversity is integral towards our goal of "creating a supportive environment for excellence."

Recognition of our efforts toward creating and maintaining an inclusive environment include:

  • Suinn Achievement Awards. The Department of Psychology's Program in Social Psychology (2003) and the Program in Clinical Psychology (2005) each received the Suinn Achievement Award from the American Psychological Association (APA). The award is given to university psychology departments that have demonstrated excellence in the recruitment, retention and graduation of ethnic minority students.

  • Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award. The Department of Psychology was awarded the first annual Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award, which recognizes "an outstanding institutional initiative in demonstrating notable progress by an academic unit in achieving ethnic/racial and gender diversity in the professor, clinical professor, research professor, and research scientist faculty ladders/tracks.

  • Departmental Diversity Day Symposium, March 20, 2009. "A symposium intended to highlight research and teaching in diversity in the Department of Psychology, as well as recruitment and retention issues." Speakers included departmental faculty members Patricia Gurin, Ramaswami Mahalingam, Denise Sekaquaptewa, and Robert Sellers.

Departmental Diversity Committee Members

  • Denise Sekaquaptewa, Chair
  • Ed Chang
  • Donna Nagata
  • Rona Carter
Graduate Students:
  • Bridget Richardson
  • Shana Rochester
  • Maria Arredondo
  • Natalie Nevarez
  • Wylie Wan

Copyright 2013 The Regents of the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI 48109 USA 734-764-1817